We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cuisine. Pity about the clientele.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jiko

Jiko
Tribe Hotel | Limuru Road, The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #176 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The restraunt was called Epic (which already features on Tripadvisor) and has recently re-opened as Jiko.
Bergen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good cuisine. Pity about the clientele.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We wanted good cuisine and we got that. The waiters were competent and attentive. The wine list showed good choice - for example in the whites, there was a range from dry , crisp and grassy to the sweeter more fruity ones - and also a range of prices (though none were cheap).The food was well-prepared and presented. If you want stodge (rice, chips etc), you order it as an extra: the main courses come with just the good stuff. This suited us, since we got the good stuff without the stodge. The service was quick. They have made a good choice in limiting the number of items in their menu.
However, we also wanted an above-average dining experience, as a whole, and we did not get that - despite the best efforts of the staff. This was because of the dominant clientele in the restaurant. It was mostly men above a certain age and size, who got very drunk and loud. I suspect these were largely the wealthy guests of the Tribe hotel that the restaurant is part of.

We especially liked the osso bucco.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    5
    5
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Got the best food in Kenya at this nice hotel restaurant. Nice to sit outside by the pool. Very good jumbo prawns

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Does no justice to the hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

It was my birthday. Looked forward to fine dining in a great setting. With great anticipation my two firends and I went for dinner on a weeknight. The welcome was indifferent and the waiters were not dressed in keeping with a place of the calibre and price list that goes with the Jiko restaurant. Whilst they were pleasant enough in taking our orders their knowledge of the menu was minimal (being kind!). The Japananes starters were old & tasteless. Must have come straight out of the fridge and warmed up in a microwave. The ginger and wasabi should have been trashed a while ago but the chef felt it was ok to still serve it. The mains were overcooked and dry and not even starter portions. The desserts were another rip off with a simple ice cream from a cheap tub but priced at 20 times the price! Left feeling cheated and understood why the place is empty other than for one large table which seemed more interested in drinking the overpriced and under achieving drinks and cocktails. Went up to the Nest afterwards where despite a chili evening there were no jiko warmers and the shots and the sheesha were obscenely priced. Maybe the Tribe restaurants are for people with more money than sense. Left with a sense of being done in.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tribe restaurant review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Went to this hotel for dinner and drinks at the restaurant. The food was good (a tad expensive for locals, but a nice occasional treat), but the service left something to be desired, as well as other patrons who were clearly drunk and being slightly obnoxious. I do have to say that I'd love to stay here at some point, the architecture and the interior design really create a great sense of ambience, combined with the softly played african music. The grounds were gorgeous especially at night with all the lights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It was a great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Friends and family were visiting from overseas and we decided to treat ourselves by having dinner at the Tribe.

The welcome and service at Jiko's both times we went was warm and friendly. The food was excellent and the atmosphere quiet and serene.

The staff was attentive but not intrusive.

As the first dinner was such a pleasant experience, everyone decided to experience it a second time before they flew back to the States. The 2nd experience was just as rewarding.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jiko also viewed

 

Been to Jiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jiko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.