We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid booking this place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bush House & Camp

Save Saved
You added Bush House & Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HostelBookers.com
Bush House & Camp
1 Silanga Close | Fair Acres Rd., Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Avoid booking this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We booked three nights at Bush House & Camp via booking.com 3 months ahead of our travel. 3 days prior to departure we send an email to the hotel to remind them about the reservation and they confirmed. Upon arrival at the hotel we were turned away due to double booking.

Although they provided an alternative accommodation (Karen Embers Guesthouse, wonderful place, by the way), not honoring the reservations caused us major problems with 3 safari operators who we had prior arrangements with. We would strongly advise any fellow travelers not to trust Bush House & Camp for any bookings in advance (only if you go directly and they happen to have a free room at the moment) and find an alternative accommodation in Karen instead.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I actually did not stay at this property because they gave away our room. Another customer had a cancelled flight so they were allowed to remain in the room I reserved about 6 months ago.

I and my travelling partner were exhausted after a long, busy vacation and when we arrived, I asked if we could upgrade to the deluxe accomodation. That's when I was told that not only were the deluxe rooms booked, but so was the standard room I had reserved. I immediately started to leave so I could catch our driver before he left. The staff said I would like the tent and asked me to look at it first. I did. It was just a large tent with a bed and some furniture and a restroom attached. Being a cold night in Nairobi, I again refused. As I was leaving, the manager came out and said that she had set us up with a room at another nearby property called Elishama Greens. She said that the new room would be better than the one reserved at Bush House.

Elishama was nice by Nairobi standards. It reminded me of a college dorm. It was a little worn out but that appears to be normal for the budget price range. The staff there was excellent.

Despite having given my room to someone else, I would say that the staff at Bush House was somewhat helpful. They did have another room reserved elsewhere, but they also tried to get me to take the tent, without giving me the option first. The manager was apologetic and got us a deal on a driver for a tour the next day. The property looked nice from the lobby, although the giant shoe rack was a little unusual (It appears you cannot wear shoes in carpeted areas). It was a little hard to find (no sign out front). However, since I would have been sleeping in a cold tent, had I not complained, I cannot give them a good rating or recommend Bush House to others.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Even though it's more of a hostel with its dorm rooms, my wife and I had a room to ourselves in the house. The staff were always friendly and helpful, arranging a taxi to take us to see the giraffes, elephant orphanage and Karen Blixen museum for 6000 shillings (plus entry) and arranged a sandwich and beer even though it was about 9pm when we arrived. Airport transfers were US$30 each way, payable with the bill on their card machine. Nice gardens, comfy bed, ok shower, a bit out of the way but great value - what more can I say? Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very nice place to stay at, staff is above all expectations... however, make sure you get a room inside the house and not in the back house as those rooms are smaller and darker. In the beginning when going towards the back house it seemed a little 'dodgy' but it turned out to be ok (considering how difficult it is to find a friendly, neat and cheap hotel in this city). Food is amazing, John (the cook) is a very warm person, buses go very near the hotel and you can go have quick a excursion through the outskirts of Nairobi and is walking distance form the Giraffe sanctuary. No hot water both days I stayed at an internet only in the big house (not in the back one).

Room Tip: Choose a room in the house (although is more expensive)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed in the Bush House before and after our Safari. We really loved this place. The staff is super friendly and welcoming and made us feel at home. The guest house is in a very quiet (and posh) neighbourhood of Nairobi and surrounded by a beautiful garden. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast on the veranda looking at the blossomed trees in the garden. We also liked that it's familiy run and decorated in what we believe is African style with thick carpets and dark wooden furniture pieces. A nice contrast to soul-less international hotel chains. I also recommend this place for single travelers, because of the inviting living-room like common area and the super nice staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

i loved the fact the transportation was arranged,the staff were very friendly and superbe, The food was deliciousi also enjoyed the privacy in my room although had access to business center and conference hall.Having wifi access was great and the security made me fell very safe

Room Tip: rooms are custom prepared for each individual,make sure you communicate your needs while booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

bush house is the best b&b i have visited in Nairobi Kenya, clean,affordable rates,accessible and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bush House & Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bush House & Camp

Address: 1 Silanga Close | Fair Acres Rd., Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 88 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leading guest house in serene suburb of Karen, Nairobi, serving guests on budget hotel accommodation with an airport transfer Nairobi, travel safaris Kenya Tanzania desk and Arusha shuttle service. Beautiful gardens to relax and key amenities like WiFi internet, clean rooms, relaxing lounges, Satellite TV and great cuisine, and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Bush House & Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bush House & Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.