We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super-friendly staff (careful with one of the taxi drivers though)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bush House & Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bush House & Camp to your Saves list
Bush House & Camp
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1 Silanga Close | Fair Acres Rd., Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Super-friendly staff (careful with one of the taxi drivers though)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very nice place to stay at, staff is above all expectations... however, make sure you get a room inside the house and not in the back house as those rooms are smaller and darker. In the beginning when going towards the back house it seemed a little 'dodgy' but it turned out to be ok (considering how difficult it is to find a friendly, neat and cheap hotel in this city). Food is amazing, John (the cook) is a very warm person, buses go very near the hotel and you can go have quick a excursion through the outskirts of Nairobi and is walking distance form the Giraffe sanctuary. No hot water both days I stayed at an internet only in the big house (not in the back one).

Room Tip: Choose a room in the house (although is more expensive)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
5
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed in the Bush House before and after our Safari. We really loved this place. The staff is super friendly and welcoming and made us feel at home. The guest house is in a very quiet (and posh) neighbourhood of Nairobi and surrounded by a beautiful garden. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast on the veranda looking at the blossomed trees in the garden. We also liked that it's familiy run and decorated in what we believe is African style with thick carpets and dark wooden furniture pieces. A nice contrast to soul-less international hotel chains. I also recommend this place for single travelers, because of the inviting living-room like common area and the super nice staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

i loved the fact the transportation was arranged,the staff were very friendly and superbe, The food was deliciousi also enjoyed the privacy in my room although had access to business center and conference hall.Having wifi access was great and the security made me fell very safe

Room Tip: rooms are custom prepared for each individual,make sure you communicate your needs while booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

bush house is the best b&b i have visited in Nairobi Kenya, clean,affordable rates,accessible and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

hi there my stay was very good and i would recommend any body wanting to visit kenya .i would say stay at bush house &camp very good choice staff very good clean and very nice people

Room Tip: in the dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bush House & Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bush House & Camp

Address: 1 Silanga Close | Fair Acres Rd., Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bush House & Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leading guest house in serene suburb of Karen, Nairobi, serving guests on budget hotel accommodation with an airport transfer Nairobi, travel safaris Kenya Tanzania desk and Arusha shuttle service. Beautiful gardens to relax and key amenities like WiFi internet, clean rooms, relaxing lounges, Satellite TV and great cuisine, and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Bush House & Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bush House & Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.