We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“professional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Safe Ride Tours & Safaris

Safe Ride Tours & Safaris
Avenue House, 2nd Floor. Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 57662, Kenya
+254-20-2229484
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 104 activities in Nairobi
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“professional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was recently on a trip to Kenya with a group of physicians and dentists. Safe Ride provided all of our transportation, and did a great job. They were professional, prompt, and certainly made us feel safe.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent service and very punctual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Our NGO group used Safe Rides for 10 different events. We had them pick up everyone for arrivals and departures to the Wilson Airport and the International airport. They also helped us with two Safari's allowing us to make many changes in our plans. When our plans changed and people dropped out of the group or were sick they reimbursed us the amounts that we had prepaid. When one member left her cellphone in the van the driver upon finding it at 9PM returned to the hotel to give her phone back to her.

Francis was very easy to work with as the cordinator of the company and his drivers were very nice and professional. When we return to Kenya again in the future we will be using Safe Rides for our transportation and Tours.

Thank you Francis

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a very good company”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Safe ride use were very nice in all the correspondence we made with them prior to the Safari. However when we went on the safari itself, the guide was busy talking on the phone and texting most of the time. He was rude to all of us. The guide also made suspicious deals with other guides taking random passengers with us to lake Nakuru. These people were not happy with the new arrangement so we were caught in the middle of the fight between them and the guides. I really recommend going with other companies and especially not with a guide named Richard.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for Kenya - terrible in Tanzania”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We (young, undemanding, studentish couple) booked a 12d Safari, including 5d in Kenya and 7d in Tanzania. What we did not know is that Safe Ride Tours & Safari does not cover Tanzania but rather drops you off at the border to some other local operator (incl. 4hours waiting time at the border, rough public transport to Arusha and complications at the pick-up.. all in all 1 "lost" day).

We can recommend Safe Ride Tours & Safaris for Kenya if you don't mind minor hiccups. 2 out of 2 cars had issues (overheating & weak battery, which meant "tourists push the car"), some accomodations were horribly cheap and in very bad locations (Hotel Cool Rivers in Nakuru). THe staff is nice, but in connection with all the minor issues I would say, they do not hold what they promise. It was nice, but not worth all the money that we paid. Try to get a discount..

For the TZ part (we were being pushed over to a company called "World Tours") I recommend to look for a good TZ operator and book it yourself. You can definitely save money, time and nerves if you avoid the "random" suprise element with Safe Ride Tours + World Tour (or whoever they might choose for your TZ safari).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great wildlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We booked an 8 day, 7 night tour with Safe Ride tours to see Masai Mara, Lake Nakuru, Lake Naivasha, Hells Gate and Amboseli. The tour cost approximately US $200 per person, per day.

We paid for a group tour but it was in only the two of us for most of the time which was nice. Two other travelers joined us for the Amboseli part of the trip.

The accommodation provided was variable, our accommodations at Masai Mara and Lake Nakuru were budget whilst our accommodation at Lake Naivasha and Amboseli were approaching Luxury. We were a bit disappointed with the Mara accommodation for the price but the Amboseli accommodation was better than expected.

Our guide Chris was very good at getting us great spots to see wildlife. We were very close to a Wildebeast crossing and saw Cheetahs racing past our car after a gazelle. His driving was a bit faster than we were comfortable with at times, although we appreciated his quick thinking to get us good spots in the parks. Chris was very knowledgeable about wildlife, he answered all our questions well.

The vehicle was a standard Toyota safari van. We had a few minor issues but considering the terrain we were covering this was not unexpected.

Overall it was a good tour and we enjoyed ourselves.


Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safe Ride Tours & Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Safe Ride Tours & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safe Ride Tours & Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.