We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful safari experience with Safe Ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Safe Ride Tours & Safaris

Safe Ride Tours & Safaris
Avenue House, 2nd Floor. Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 57662, Kenya
+254-20-2229484
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful safari experience with Safe Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We emailed ten different companies when trying to select our 3 day Masai Mara Safari. As backpackers we try to save money wherever possible and Safe Ride had the best rate of all eight companies that responded. We were impressed by the communication from Francis, the airport pickup, the lovely ladies in the office who helped us get a bus ticket to Mombasa and of course our awesome driver Nelson. Nelson was friendly, knowledgeable and a very safe driver. He knew lots about the different kinds of animals, looked one up when we found a bird he was unsure on, and had a knack for finding animals - following a hunch we were the first vehicle at a lioness with four cubs - an incredible experience. The camp was very close to the entrance to the park and we had ample time in the park and saw lots of different animals. We would absolutely book with Safe Ride again for a high quality, more affordable (but still professional) experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    0
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely Happy With Safe Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

First time to Kenya and was a bit nervous planning the safari. Francis was very prompt in repsonding to my emails. He sorted out a few airport pick ups since my group was coming from different places.

We had Joseph as our driver and he was great. He provided lots of information about the animals, always listened to us if we wanted to stop or go somewhere else, and was respectful to the environment/park rules. After the Maasai Mara trip we organised another one day trip to Lake Nakuru with Safe Ride and again it was another pleasant trip.

If I need to plan another safari in Kenya I will definitely be choosing Safe Ride.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another well run trip - thanks Safe Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I've just come back from our tenth trip to Kenya. We've used Safe Ride for all of them, to provide transport for our charity volunteer groups working in remote communities near Lake Victoria.
Francis sorts out the trip details very efficiently and quickly, adapting the itinerary to meet our needs. The minibuses are functional and comfortable rather than luxurious but that's what we want. They have proven to be very reliable, despite the punishment they receive. The drivers are outstanding. Their local knowledge is great - everything from history and wildlife to where we can find a cheap meal.
Trip 11 will be in July.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Glad we went with Safe Ride.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We couldn't have picked a better company. Even though the group we were supposed to go with pulled out, they were professional enough to basically give us a private Safari tour for the group price because that was the price we had agreed on. Catherine, the lady who we booked with, was very nice, but our driver was GREAT! He was soooo knowledgeable and informative, we could not have asked for more. Their camp is 1km away from the Masai Mara so we were in and out of the park in minutes. Would definitely recommend this place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Completely satisfied- very glad we tried Safe Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a completely satisfying experience with Safe Ride and would definitely suggest you give them a try. We visited a few offices in one manic afternoon in Nairobi and upon coming into Safe Ride's humble office, I wasn't expecting too much. There wasn't a great deal of up-to-date marketing material or salesmanship on offer but the more we spoke with them, the better we felt. They were flexible and helpful in arranging our itinerary and offered the best value private safari we'd come across. All was set to leave the next morning and they reasonably allowed us to pay the bulk of the fee after checking out the vehicle (which was fine.)
It was smooth sailing from then on: impressive accommodation at both Tsavo and Amboseli, no major delays, no forced souvenir shopping or time wasting. Decent vehicle, back-up service in case of breakdowns though we had no such trouble. All in all I was left wondering why my usual instinct is to trust a fancy office or modern website.. when local, no fuss companies like Safe Ride give you a great holiday and great value. It even turns out that they've been established for over a decade.. despite Lonely Planet still listing them as 'new.'
Our guide, Robert, was a legend. Sensible older bloke, quite knowledgeable about wildlife and with a genuine interest in showing us the best on offer- I liked that on one occasion he saw a rare sub-species of antelope and keenly reached for his field guide to find out what it was. Was also happy to talk about Kenya's history, culture, politics.. and with a little prompting, the Premier League. He was a good egg and patiently waited with us to make sure we made our connecting shuttle bus at the Tanzania border.
So if you're looking to have a great safari experience for a good price with no fuss, then get in touch with Safe Ride.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safe Ride Tours & Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Safe Ride Tours & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safe Ride Tours & Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.