We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to be back for decent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artcaffe

Artcaffe
Limuru Road | Village Market, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Lilongwe, Malawi
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good to be back for decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Despite some reviews this is worth a visit.
The service was not intrusive and was very efficient.
I had some minor requests to adjust the the food order with no problem
Yes it is busy with local Asian and expat families but that make no difference to the ambiance in fact pretty cosmapolitan.
No it ain't Europe but a good substitute if your visiting.

I have visited twice in two days first with collegues new to visiting Nairobi and then as a solo.

Definately recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    8
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Racism and selective discrimination at Art Caffe”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is my friends experience and enough to warrant me NEVER TO GO THERE! and its been shared across social media (Facebook) and I to went through the same nonsense and said to myself...maybe its a bad day but this got me thinking....no...they've done it again. ..!!! so here's what she had to say.. "The worst form of discrimination is when you are discriminated against by one of your own!! So I go to Art Caffe, Westgate, and I find lots of tables at the terrace 'reserved'. I ask if I can get one of them and I'm told 'sorry, they are reserved'. So no sweat, I sit in one of the high tables. My (white) date comes and I see him being ushered to one of the 'reserved' tables. I go over to one join him and sit. I tell him 'I didnt know you had reserved a table? I'd have asked for it' And he says 'No I hadnt reserved. Just walked in and was directed to this table'. Seriously!!!!"

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethlehem
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Not enough shade outside on a sunny day...great service and food. Ambiance is good too. Too crowded outside i you ask me hard to move around when packed

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voi
1 review
“Nice design”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The best is the design and the organization .You can have a nice lunch or supper and even if it is crowed still is comfortable and the staff efficient food as well good

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Upscale atmosphere, okay coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went to Art Cafe with a group of eight. I ordered their version of a frappuccino, which tasted pretty good - the coffee was not too sweet - but came with ice cubes rather than being a blended drink.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artcaffe also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Artcaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artcaffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.