We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cafe at the Village Market” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artcaffe

Artcaffe
Limuru Road | Village Market, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 320 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Beijing
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great cafe at the Village Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you are in Nairobi, a trip to the Village Market is a must (visit on a Friday and you can go to the Masai Market which is held there every week). The Village Market itself is a destination, a great outdoor market concept, much nicer than any other shopping mall in Nairobi (or any ordinary mall anywhere, for that matter). While there a food court that has basically any kind of food you would want (pizza, India, Chinese, Persian, etc), if you are looking for a nice environment with high quality food then go to the Artcaffe on the second floor (just above the main entrance) where you can sit and enjoy great coffee, eat and just enjoy the atmosphere. We ordered a greek salad and a hummos salad, both of which were excellent. They also have amazing desserts. Service was also friendly and prompt. (Note: can't speak to the negative reviews of the other locations of Artcaffe in Nairobi, but at least the one at the Village Market was great on the day we went).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    8
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great food, European atmosphere, but often too crowded and hot inside. The local crowd does not eat at Art Cafe much, mainly expatriates. Israeli owned.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere. Disgusting food and service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This review is for the Arte Cafe at the Junction in Nairobi. I was invited to join my friends for breakfast/lunch at the Arte Cafe at the Junction in Nairobi. The atmosphere was quite charming so I was quite looking forward to a pleasant meal. I ordered a cappuccino, which took an inordinate amount of time to prepare. I also ordered a tuna nicoise salad which was only brought to me when my friends were half way through their meal (I had asked them not to wait). When my salad arrived, it looked disgusting, a blob of sickly looking tuna on a bed of wilted salad. I should have sent the salad back but I foolishly took a bite. It tasted disgusting. It is perhaps the most vile looking and tasting food I have had in recent memory anywhere in the world. My friends weren't happy with their food either. I would avoid this place.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Art cafe - just a waste of time for nothing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Bad service, half of hour for any simple order, young unexperimented waiters, not even understanding english, coffe sucks, food is just from frozen products.
An other half of hour to get the bill, and you can forget about the change.

A place to be avoided. Specially the Westgate Mall branch in Westlands of Nairobi!

Most of the time full with noisy-indians, full of themselves expats and easy-to-approach females.
Too slow
Too incompetent staff


Have a nice day reader!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, amazing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Being from the UK, we really enjoy going to Art Caffe at Westgate every once in a while to enjoy a cafe latte and to buy fresh croissants and French bread from their amazing bakery. The place gets really busy around noon and in the evenings and the staff are super busy running around. We love sitting out on the patio - if you can find a seat. It's the perfect place to people watch and catch up with friends. So far, no complaints!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artcaffe also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Artcaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artcaffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.