We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat the Haloumi Salad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artcaffe

Artcaffe
Limuru Road | Village Market, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 346 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Eat the Haloumi Salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a nice restaurant with good indoor and outdoor seating, friendly staff, in the Village Market which is a very pleasant place to walk around. I ate here several times and enjoyed it. The haloumi salad is both beautiful and delicious with red and yellow peppers and cheese, plus lots of greens and pumpkin chunks. What's not to love?

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    32
    9
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The comforts of home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Art Cafe - we tend to go to the one in Westgate Mall in Westlands - is probably not going to be very high up on the list of travellers spending one a day or two in Nairobi, but for those who live here or are a bit travel-weary is is a great place to go. The food is of a very high standard - salads, pastas, pizzas (very good!), fish, meat, soups, sandwiches and more. The smoothies and milkshakes are great, which is nice on a hot, sticky day in Nairobi. This one, and the one in Langata, are located in shopping malls, making them convenient if you need to stock up on supplies at the same time. They have free wifi, although it hasn't worked the three times I have tried or wanted to use it (you are provided with a password on request). Since we lived out in the bush for most of last year, coming in to enjoy a pizza, a smoothie and a bit of AC was always much appreciated. Not the cheapest of places (pizza around $8-10), but usually worth it. The lasagna was a bit of a miss though.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great folks, excellent bread”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

a tad expensive for Nairobi, but hey, compare it to Europe - a bargain! Simple, good, fresh snacks, good choice of beers and wines. We do go, and bring bread back home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HA NOI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Arty place to be alone or with friends,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The Art cafe has a really homey ambiance, where you really enjoy a good meal, from breakfast to dinner. I recommend the Art Kebab, mediterranean and tasty or the greek breakfast or the deliciosu 100 % chocolate
Everything is well planned in this establishment, from the food to the waiter staff
A place where you find comfort and good taste
We hope you will maintain the quality over the time so that we have a good address to indicate for new comers or resident in nairobi.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“recent letdown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

In the past, this was one of our favorites. The humus is great and some of their sandwiches are excellent. Don't even think about their burger. It's probably the worst meat in Kenya. Bit let down considering the level of everything else they offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artcaffe also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 
Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Artcaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artcaffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.