We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aero Club of East Africa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aero Club of East Africa
Wilson Airport, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A step back in time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I really loved this place. It was nostaglic, like stepping into the 1930's, the rooms were traditional, high ceilings with the moquito nets drawn up, and the bathroom just as it would have been in its heyday. Well kept and beautiful.

The AeroClub itself was a real treat, evoking again the luxury of the late 20's early 30's, all the old fixtures and fittings still in good condition and beautifully cared for. Its like old England in the layout, beautiful manicured gardens and the apartments, like little terraced bungalows!

The biggest surprise for me was the food! What a variety of choice and every morsel was a sensation for the tastebuds, what a pleasure!!!

We stayed here for one night but I enjoyed the experience, the architecture and the feeling of being in another era. It reminded me a lot of the film Out of Africa..... I would definately go back there again and soak in the atmosphere and the great food!

Definately worth a visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
7
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I had not visited the Aero Club for a number of years and was very impressed with the very much improved menu and quality of food. The menu was fun and interesting with a huge assortment of food to choose from. The food was delicious - especially loved the breakfast! The service was very fast and the staff friendly and polite and very helpful. The rooms are basic but fit the ambience of the place. My friends from Europe loved the 1920's feel. The perfect place to stay to avoid Nbi traffic and get on the road quickly and early out of town. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Aero Club is exactly what it says - a flying club for members, which allows non members to stay.
The advantages are a competitive price, a lovely bar and restaurant area with excellent food at reasonable prices, no need to go into the city centre, and most of all a wonderful ambience with a club feel and loads of historic photos and artefacts.
The disadvantages are pretty ordinary rooms though with all basic necessities, some traffic noise from the main road just outside the perimeter fence, and no online booking.
It is also vital for first time visitors to realise that the Aero Club is not at THE airport (JKIA) but at the older Wilson airport about 20 mins away by taxi.
I'd go back again just to soak up the atmosphere in the clubhouse.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.albans
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Have stayed several times, although the rooms need a little refurbishment they are comfortable,the ambience of both restaurant and bar areas are great, food and service is excellent, very convenient for flights.

Room Tip: The double rooms are a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I checked into this hotel just before doing a safari. The bar and restaurant have a certain old world charm, with great service. However guests needs to be aware that the hotels rooms themselves are pretty basic (admittedly it is also reflected in the price) and the adjacent main road is pretty noisy throughout the night

Room Tip: Don't go for rooms 1-3 as they are too noisy next to the main road. Rooms in the new block are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in the Aero Club, which is at Wilson Airport on the outskirts of the bustling city of Nairobi. The advantage of being there is that one can avoid the enless traffic jams within the city.
The rooms are OK but are in need of some urgent refurbishment.
The place is realy a piece of the 'old' Kenya, with examples of old aero engines scattered around the bar and reception area. I kept glancing round expecting to see 'Biggles' appear at any moment. The bar and restaurant are excellent value with good quick cheerful service.
If you don't need to go into the city, its a good place to stay. We used it a jumping off point, leaving much of our luggage there and reurning now and then for a change of clothes. Very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Aero Club of East Africa has a nice bar and restaurant with great food. The living arrangements however, was not nice. The room seems dark and dirty. The bedding old and ruined. The mosquito net seemed dirty. The bathroom was not very clean and the sink had dirt scum as if no one ever cleans it. I felt very uncomfortable with my room. I wouldnt stay here again and wouldn't advise others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aero Club of East Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aero Club of East Africa

Address: Wilson Airport, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aero Club of East Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aero Club of East Africa to your Saves list