We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value nostalgia trip, but some drawbacks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aero Club of East Africa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aero Club of East Africa
Save Saved
You added Aero Club of East Africa to your Saves list
Wilson Airport, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
shropshire, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good value nostalgia trip, but some drawbacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Aero Club is exactly what it says - a flying club for members, which allows non members to stay.
The advantages are a competitive price, a lovely bar and restaurant area with excellent food at reasonable prices, no need to go into the city centre, and most of all a wonderful ambience with a club feel and loads of historic photos and artefacts.
The disadvantages are pretty ordinary rooms though with all basic necessities, some traffic noise from the main road just outside the perimeter fence, and no online booking.
It is also vital for first time visitors to realise that the Aero Club is not at THE airport (JKIA) but at the older Wilson airport about 20 mins away by taxi.
I'd go back again just to soak up the atmosphere in the clubhouse.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
7
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
st.albans
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Have stayed several times, although the rooms need a little refurbishment they are comfortable,the ambience of both restaurant and bar areas are great, food and service is excellent, very convenient for flights.

Room Tip: The double rooms are a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I checked into this hotel just before doing a safari. The bar and restaurant have a certain old world charm, with great service. However guests needs to be aware that the hotels rooms themselves are pretty basic (admittedly it is also reflected in the price) and the adjacent main road is pretty noisy throughout the night

Room Tip: Don't go for rooms 1-3 as they are too noisy next to the main road. Rooms in the new block are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in the Aero Club, which is at Wilson Airport on the outskirts of the bustling city of Nairobi. The advantage of being there is that one can avoid the enless traffic jams within the city.
The rooms are OK but are in need of some urgent refurbishment.
The place is realy a piece of the 'old' Kenya, with examples of old aero engines scattered around the bar and reception area. I kept glancing round expecting to see 'Biggles' appear at any moment. The bar and restaurant are excellent value with good quick cheerful service.
If you don't need to go into the city, its a good place to stay. We used it a jumping off point, leaving much of our luggage there and reurning now and then for a change of clothes. Very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Aero Club of East Africa has a nice bar and restaurant with great food. The living arrangements however, was not nice. The room seems dark and dirty. The bedding old and ruined. The mosquito net seemed dirty. The bathroom was not very clean and the sink had dirt scum as if no one ever cleans it. I felt very uncomfortable with my room. I wouldnt stay here again and wouldn't advise others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have stayed at the Aero Club many times and it is very convenient!

Location is great as it is part of the Wilson Airport grounds and close to town. It is safe, you get a hot shower, a comfy bed and a cold beer at the bar! All you need when coming through Nairobi.
No need to run to town as there is a restaurant located inside the Aeroclub walls.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Love this place, from the friendly staff, the restaurant, the club appeal and even the dated and basic rooms and bathrooms all add to the quaintness. Inclusive in your rate is temporary club membership and the bar, lounge, polished wood and aeronautical memorabilia all very reminiscent of out of Africa. The wine is very reasonably priced and there is a good selection and it is pleasant to enjoy a drink in the bar before dinner.All the staff are amazingly courteous and efficient. We have stayed there a few times and it will always be our choice for overnight stays in Nairobi.
Last time we went with our grandchildren and son and everyone had rave reviews about the food. I love the old world ambiance that you are unlikely to get in another hotel and the convenience to both the International airport and David Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage, which we always visit, makes its location very appealing. Plus, all our connecting flights around Kenya are on site (so no lengthy traffic delays) as it is situated in pleasant grounds right at Wilson airport. There is also a pool and lovely outdoor terrace to while away the hours before or after your flight to the Mara. Convenience 5 stars.

Room Tip: read a great deal about the noise but we must have been lucky as everyone slept very well, maybe tir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aero Club of East Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aero Club of East Africa

Address: Wilson Airport, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aero Club of East Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.