We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic accomodation, atmospheric bar and nice garden” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aero Club of East Africa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aero Club of East Africa
Save
You added Aero Club of East Africa to your Saves list
Wilson Airport, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 163 Nairobi B&B and Inns
madrid
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Very basic accomodation, atmospheric bar and nice garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The positives: your temporary membership enables you to dine in the members only club bar, polished wood and old aviation photos everywhere: you expect to see Finch Hatton turn up for a sundowner. The food is simple and cheap. The reception and bar staff are very welcoming. After a long flight out from Europe via Dubai, it was great to spend the remains of the day in the garden which looks over the airfield to the Nairobi park beyond. Being a few hundred meters from the Wilson check in area means a late get up and no stress about potential traffic jams. It was nice to have breakfast on the terrace overlooking the garden.
The negatives: it's noisy. While the airfield is open you occasionally get loud bursts of propellor plane engines. On the non airfield side of the club there is a busy road. Bring ear plugs! The room was very basic, though clean and with plenty of hot water. Slept well, thanks to fatigue and to earplugs.
The convenience for the morning flight out to Masai Mara and friendliness of the staff mean that I'd certainly use this "hotel" on any future safari trip to Kenya. However, it's defitnitely a "one nighter".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
7
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A very useful transit stop, used by up-country resident members and tourists alike. There's a small surcharge for non-members. Simple decent accommodation and food, a good bar and breakfast, with cheerful friendly staff.

Room Tip: They're all a bit noisy due to road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have always previously stayed overnight in the city prior to my early morning flight into the Mara from Wilson airport (WIL). This has meant an early start to make sure of getting through the horrendous traffic. In order to avoid this I decided to try the ACEA, & I'm very glad I did.

My BA flight didn't land until 10 PM but I cleared C&I very easily, jumped in a taxi & 15 minutes later arrived at the ACEA. I was welcomed, shown to my room & informed that the bar had been kept open for me! Even if you don't drink it's still well worth a visit. It's like a museum of nearly 90 years of aviation in Kenya & the neighbouring countries. There are loads of photos & pieces of memorabilia, including a Merlin engine, as fitted to the Spitfire! After a couple of Malts & a cracking chat with the barman it was time for bed.

My room in the new block, was large, clean & furnished with both a double & single bed. There is plenty of storage space & the bath room & shower were spotlessly clean & fitted with all mod cons. I slept like a log.

Breakfast was served in the main dining room & there is also an outside dining area next to the pool. I had a superb breakfast, cooked to order & priced very reasonably. The staff were both efficient & friendly. I was strolling down the road after breakfast to check in for my flight & a Safari link wagon stopped & picked me up!

I can highly recommend the ACEA & next time I'm here, rather than hanging around Nairobi airport waiting for my night flight back to LHR, I'll have dinner & a couple of beers here & then grab a cab to NBO.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new block are better & bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Easy to book, a small supliment charged if you are not a member but worth it. Look if you are expecting shiney floors and air con you are in the wrong mindset. What you get is a safe, welcolming, convienent and well priced bed and a meal. There is a bar, good food, wifi and space to relax and meet friends or do business. There is a small pool, its clean and refreshing. For a transit location to from safaris or a quick in and out of Kenya this is the place. 30 min at best from the main airport and literally minutes from the charter flight hub.

Advice: ask for rooms away from the road, the new block is best! Bit noisy. The cars are worse than the planes! Watch the mosquitos in the evening. There are squadrons of them and accurate in their persuit of the targets! Quick laundry service and its actually well positioned with access to town or Karen. Matter of timing really. Great spot.

Room Tip: Ask for the new block. They are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for a night stay before taking our flight to Mara next morning from Wilson. It is a basic hotel with comfortable beds, mosquito nets and decent food in the restaurant. Wilson airstrip is about 10 mins walk. We had dinner and breakfast at the Aeroclub which was decent. Dinner had decent vegetarian food. There is free wifi in the lobby. If you have a couple of hours, there is Yaya center mall about 5-6 kms with supermarket and basic needs. It also has Masai market on sundays which we went to see. You could buy souveniers from there. It is not a standard hotel with a lot of amenities but it is more than good enough for a one day stay. I would definitely recommend this if you are flying through Wilson.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Hague
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed here the last night in Kenya.. We hoped to go the the nairobi national park, carnivore and catch our early morning flight. We made the carnivore and our flight, but ran out of time for the national park.

The location was excellent for our plans. Good room, nice atmosphere. Nice restaurant and bar, small swimming pool and some nice play area for children. Added bonus is all the small aircraft which take off and land right next door.

The aero club is however also next to a major high way, which you do really hear at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

For our second trip to Kenya, we decided to forgo the luxurious downtown hotel for the overnight stay before leaving for the bush. Why fight Nairobi traffic early in the morning to get to Wilson Airport and why pay international hotel prices when you can be comfortable and be at Wilson Airport? Plus, the role of aviation and bush pilots in the modern history of Africa made one feel a bit more like an adventurer rather than a pampered safari guest!

The main lodge of the Club is comfortable and has a lovely old-world feeling with propellers and aviation photos on display. Our room, in an adjacent building, was spacious and comfortable, with high ceilings, air conditioning, and a clean bathroom and shower. TV had local channels only - much more interesting - and there was no internet as far as I could tell. We could have walked to the passenger terminal but Safari Link picked us up.

If you are not too concerned about the amenities of a major hotel but want a good night's sleep at an affordable rate before heading out into the bush, you might consider the Aero Club of East Africa.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aero Club of East Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aero Club of East Africa

Address: Wilson Airport, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aero Club of East Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.