We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Airport Stop Over House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nairobi Airport Stop Over House to your Saves list
Nairobi Airport Stop Over House
Oluvimu Road | P.O Box 16173, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 157 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Mauritius
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was coming from Masai Mara Safari and had to pick my flight in the morning and wanted a cheap place only to sleep and have breakfast before going to the airport. I could not have chosen a better place for it.
I paid Kshs 3000 for a room with private bathroom which is very cheap actually compared to other hotels nearby.
The people working there (very young but very professional) were always smiling and were always ready to help and they even took me out for dinner in a nearby place (again very cheap there as well)
Concerning mosquitoes, yes we do have a lot of them but you are in Kenya and need to have to have some mosquito repellents and believe me I had no mosquito problems at all after putting on the mosquito repellent cream. well I used the mosquito nets as well and they worked wonders as I slept like a baby without any problems since morning..
Well the setting of the place is not a five star one of course for the price you are paying but you feel really secured and the amenities (bed, towels, bathroom, etc) are really very good
I also had a great breakfast with everything you need to start a good morning..
It was really a great experience for me and I will surely go there again and will highly recommend this place to travellers going for a short stay or going to or coming from a safari..
Thank you Nancy and everyone there for making this a superb stay for me

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
5
9
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I would not stay here again. And I would not recommend it either.

This was my 3rd trip to Kenya, in July 2010. I have stayed at places ranging from the top hotels to very modest tented camps. This time, I was helping to chaperone a group of kids for 2 weeks, and we used my now-former Trip Coordinator to book our accommodations. My guess is that he never set foot in the place prior to bringing us there from the airport. My regular Driver was horrified, as were other Kenyan friends of mine who could not believe the state of the place, or that we were staying in a neighborhood they did not feel was safe.

There is one main sitting room on the lower floor. They did allow you to use their computer there. In that room were several chairs and a couch, plus one long table for dining and a small 2-person table.

I believe there were 3 or 4 rooms upstairs- two smaller and two larger. One of the large rooms we reserved for the guys in our group, the other, largest we reserved for the girls in our group (bunkbeds lined the larger room with one full/queen bed). Judging from their comments and angry phone conversations, they were filled with other unhappy travelers,

Although the room was clean, there were plenty of mosquitoes and flying bugs around, and no screens on the windows. There was one shower upstairs (I tried to be one of the first to shower, and the water was warm then).
There was a toilet in a separate room next to that which was so foul that some of the girls in the group were literally crying. There were at least 14 people upstairs and the toilet wouldn't flush. The water, ETC. very often ran out over the top and onto the rest of the floor where we slipped on it constantly. I don't think I need to elaborate that point any more.

There were 10 of us, and although we had arranged for "Board", these poor girls working there were trying to fix everyone's meals on a single Jiko stove! They had an oven but it did not appear to be working. So 1-2 people at a time got their meals, which wound up making us very late to our appointments, go elsewhere, or skip meals altogether . (This may not seem important, but many travelers are on a tight schedule and it does make a difference.This was a budget trip and the kids worked hard to raise every dollar for the trip.)

The 2 young women working there were very nice, and they were clearly doing their best under the circumstances. I see by other reviews that not everyone had the same experiences we did, and I hope the place has improved. I am also guessing they didn't have a man burst in the front door at 4am screaming and yelling, either!

I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed on two separate occasions for one night each time, and used the airport drop off / pick up service they offer. The pick up / drop off from the airport was reliable and on time. The rooms are basic (hey, its Africa) but fine, the staff are friendly and helpful. Importantly it's secure. Breakfast was simple but adequate. It was also good value for money. we will be staying there next time we go to Nairobi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

hi travelers, am right now sitting at the dinning room of Stop Over House in Nairobi and i would like to recommend you this place. Between the airport and the city center, far away from the hassle of the city but really near to it. Cheap prices, nice food, hot shower, nice stuff and familiar ambient. And free wifi!! Highly recommended

Miriam

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakenham, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed for a night before my flight the following morning and found it was great value for money; a stone's throw from the airport and very friendly staff. They directed me to a great restaurant nearby for dinner and very early the next morning, before I had to leave, they kindly made me breakfast too. I felt very safe and would gladly come back again next time I'm passing through Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The location of the hostel is pretty close to the airport and it felt safe, but that's the only good thing I can say about it. There were mosquitoes everywhere, the bathroom was gross and there was a mouse in our room! Me and my friend were the only ones there and there are no computers to connect to the internet you have to have your own or ask to use the owners. There is also only a small TV that doesn't get many channels. Don't stay here no matter how convenient it is.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heinkenszand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is à bood hotel for stopover.
I stayed 1 day and is was oké .
Good room, good bed and hot shower.
I got an airport pickup and next dag.
They arranged a shuttlebus to Arusha.
After I had a good breakfast.
Of send an email, you get response!
Basic but if you are in à budget verf good
And beats the hassle ging info Nairobi.
I even recommandeer it to friendster and
After boeking they got an SMS
Fairsafari Tanzania (Marit Nieuwenhuyse)

Room Tip: Ask for à room with toilet inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Airport Stop Over House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Airport Stop Over House

Address: Oluvimu Road | P.O Box 16173, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a mid range Bed and breakfast guest house located very near the Nairobi Jomo Kenyatta airport and Wilson airport. We are less than 10minutes from any of the airport. Our guest house guarantees personal attention for it is small with a capacity of 20 guests per night. Our 5 bedrooms are either in single, double, triple and we have a family room with 1 big bed and 2 small beds. Some rooms are with private bathrooms and others in shared bathrooms. Cleanliness, security, serenity and affordability have made our guests come back again and again. With the ideal location, visitors arriving or departing late in the night or early morning have always found our place very ideal. It is also a great location for guests on transit to Tanzania since the shuttle buses to Tanzania pick guests from our house on the way without having to go to the city center to board. We have business connections with shuttle buses like Davanu shuttle, Marangu shuttles Jamii shuttle, Riverside shuttle, Impala shuttle, Destination and rainbow among others. For those on long hours of waiting to connect a flight, we offer great deals on day room either as a package with pick up and drop off the airport and lunch or just on accommodation only. We are a great place to meet other young travelers and the "young at heart", backpackers and mid range travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Nairobi Airport Stop Over House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Airport Stop Over House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.