We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place go on a coffee date” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamdi

Hamdi
5 Kaunda Street, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 361 Restaurants in Nairobi
Restaurant details
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place go on a coffee date”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I, then boyfriend asked me out for coffee one evening. He had planned we have it in a famous cafe in mama ngina street Nairobi. But he changed his mind and we decided to check this place out.
To our surprise its a very comfortable place, clean with an overlooking balcony for fresh air and the staff are very friendly.
I liked their milk shakes both the straw berry and vanilla flavors. The meals are finger liking try the chapati wrap and the "arosto" i.e specially roasted meat.
Their price range is Ksh 1,000/=-1,400/= for a full meal but the milk shakes go for only 250/=
There is free WiFi access.You'll enjoy it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is the kind of place that reminds you that food is meant to be part of life and not just what the body needs to stop feeling hungry. You keep tasting it hour's after you left the place :)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Superb reception, those waiters are amazing! Very friendly. The dishes....well, visit Hamdi restaurant!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Somali Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Had the pleasure of having a family lunch on 30th of October 2011. There was a power blackout in the general area. But still the waiter outdid himself with excellent & friendly service. And also advised us on the different Somali dishes available. It was a good experience & the portions were very generous.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithaca
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent -- the best in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I have been to Hamdi probably 20 times, at least, over the last 10 years. It is one of the best restaurants in Nairobi, and certainly the best Indian restaurant. The service is good, the atmosphere pleasant, and the food is never disappointing. It usually has a big crowd, so, make sure to make a reservation.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamdi also viewed

 

Been to Hamdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamdi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.