We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR BREAKFAST” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Transit Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nairobi Transit Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Transit Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi 29375-00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“POOR BREAKFAST”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed here overnight. The hotel is good..though the entry while driving is badly located. My worst point was told that i could not order dinner at 9.30 PM since the kitchen had closed. Yet, i had checked in at 9PM and nobody bothered to tell me when the kitechen closes. Their breakfast was also terrible...no need even to give details. I however liked the rooms facing away from the road. They are very quite.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
14
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days with my husband. Clean and comfortable rooms. Staff are super helpful - would visit again. Lovely veggie breakfast in the morning! Good price, handy for airport stopovers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is a bit tired, the beds were very hard and it is quite noisy outside in the morning. Breakfast was OK, but nothing of great quality. The hotel seems clean but could do with a revamp. Staff are friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Good enough for short stay. Staff are friendly and helpful. There are security guards all day and night outside, and the property is well looked after. The hotel in general is nothing special, but hotels in Nairobi are generally over-priced, so this one is okay in comparison. The breakfast is fairly poor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here just before a flight. Good if you just want a reasonably clean place with a bed, private washroom, and is quiet. Yes there's TV but limited channels. Like I said, basic, but it does the job of giving you a night's rest. Service is helpful and friendly. Breakfast is again basic, some might say limited, but enough to get you going on your day. While the location is not next door to major attractions, it didn't feel dodgy to me. Make sure your hot water works before you accept the given room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I found the staff to be the best part of the hotel as they were all willing to help with any request. I had a corner room, which was extremely clean, large, and a great view of the city. The location was also a 10 minute walk to the heart of the business center. The restaurant and bar at the hotel were also excellent. I thought the food was very good and the breakfast was as good as you expect a free breakfast.

The only possible negative is that the immediate surrounding area is not the greatest, but I still encountered no problems while walking through the marketplace.

I would definitely stay here again if I go back to Nairobi. The price is excellent for the view and location near the business center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

For a hotel in the heart of the CBD, The Nairobi Transit is all it proved to be, a well kept secret in Nairobi! When I came across it, I was a bit iffy considering the location it was in, surrounded by a busy market and a busy bus terminus! But call me euphoric! It was my birthday and it was a great experience! The 3 stars are for the impeccable service, the cleanliness of the rooms and the hot water in the showers (been unlucky before somewhere else)! However, the shaved off 2 stars are for the way they limited us to the local tv channels, which had bad reception except for 2 pay tv channels and yet they had DSTV installed, and the way they had a food menu which was not all that adventurous or vast, just too simple. All in all, it was a fabulous experience for that price, surprisingly, and maybe the the birthday euphoria masked a few other things, but don't knock it till you try it!! Come expecting a good time....

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are indeed quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Nairobi Transit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Transit Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi 29375-00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nairobi Transit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi Transit Hotel is a modern, affordable, business-friendly hotel on the edge of Nairobi's CBD. The hotel is situated in the business district and is close to Nairobi National Museum and Kenya National Theatre. The property is less than 30 minutes from the airport and conveniently located for onward safaris out of Nairobi. Room amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless internet, LCD televisions with premium cable channels and balconies accessible via sliding glass doors offering city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Nairobi Transit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Transit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.