We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Transit Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Transit Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nairobi Transit Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi 29375-00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The staff is very helpful, my special thanks to Mr. Kelvin en Ms.Grace.
Food is good, hotel clean but nothing special. Water in bathroom is difficult to adjust, mostly too cold. Bathroom is old-fashioned. Rooms are too dark, most lights did'nt work. Given the fact that most hotels in Nairobi are too expensive, this is a good more budget-friendly alternative for short stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
13
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Distance to Nairobi city centre excellent, but far enough out to not be so much a concern. Felt secure. Rooms were not at all like the pictures. Ours was a bit grotty in the bathroom. And the rooms felt a bit worn. They were pretty small. Rest of hotel alright. Food was simple but okay and the bar quite fun. All in all an okay place to stay for a couple of nights. Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in Nairobi from Nov.11-15, 2012.
The room was clean, bed was comfortable, free WiFi, excellent made-to-order breakfast and fantastic balcony views of down town Nairobi. Front desk was always available for questions and arrangements for taxis to shopping areas and airport. The security was very friendly and always watching the gates. The walk to city centre and markets was about 15 minutes- very easy to get around Nairobi city centre without the need for a taxi. The local markets around the hotel give it an authentic feel without compromising your feeling of safety. Breakfast was included and made fresh to order. Laundry services are excellent- fast, clean, pressed and folded. Washroom had a stand-up shower with soaps, shower gels, shampoos and fresh towels.
I would highly recommend staying at this hotel and would definitely return during future trips.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor west facing to watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rabat
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

After going from one horrible hotel in Nairobi after another, coming to the Transit Hotel was a god send... it is not that they did anything superhuman.... They simply had a clean hotel, friendly staff, an underground car park that is safe, a place to eat that had good, clean affordable food, a bathroom with working facilities and they give you all of this for around $50 (4300 KSH) an excellent deal in a city that prides itself on having horrible hotels, rude, dangerous police and smog and traffic tie ups that will make you cough black mucus for days.

Room Tip: This is a great hotel for someone who does not want to waste their companies money, and for someone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

With one day to go i was told that my flight was cancelled so arriving in evening I had to get a hotel room PDQ. Got this one through expedia after checking the reviews, the price was much less that most other hotels.
They arranged a pickup from airport and on arrival @ 10:00 the taxi was allowed into the compound before dismounting.
Reception was friendly and efficient. The room was clean with ensuite toilet and shower although did not get any hot water, may have come through if I had persisted but preferred to get to sleep.
Woken at 05:30 when the matatu buses started to fill up under the window, prearranged wake up call was received as requested.
As I was leaving 6:30 next morning I do not know what the breakfast was like as only starts 07:00.
Would I stay again? If I needed to as a stop over I would not say no

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

With the newly completed Thika road, makes access to the hotel much easier. though the parking is a bit wanting in terms of space and direction. Regardless the ambiance is okay, and menu offerings are great. The steak was great, well done, and the vegetables were done just right. For the restaurant, i would give it a 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Room was burglarized in this middle-class urban hotel. Although duly notified of the hazards of Nairobi travel, this hotel unfortunately was not appropriately equipped with room safes, and did not acknowledge the risks and previous thefts they had sustained.

Rooms were also over-stated on the website. Lack of hot water for the sink, lack of screens or mosquito nets, broken locks on patio doors and drawers (where valuables were to be kept), all made for a somewhat disappointing stay. And bed was overly firm for most tastes.

As a bright spot, morning breakfast was always cooked to order and delivered by a cheerful hardworking restaurant staff. Simple tasty dinners were also available when didn't want to go out to dinner.

Room Tip: Request use of hotel safe for valuables. Upper floor room gets away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTHManagement, Owner at Nairobi Transit Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Gust02,

Thank you for your feedback. In our bid to constantly improve, we appreciate all feedback from our guests.

The incident that occurred during your stay with us was indeed unfortunate and we would like to unreservedly apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken this unique incident seriously and we are in the process of upgrading our security arrangements to include, for example, CCTV throughout the premises.

On a lighter note, we are glad you enjoyed eating at our restaurant. The food we serve acts as a metaphor for Nairobi Transit Hotel; simple, tasteful and affordable.

Kind Regards,
Management Team
Nairobi Transit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Transit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Transit Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi 29375-00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nairobi Transit Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi Transit Hotel is a modern, affordable, business-friendly hotel on the edge of Nairobi's CBD. The hotel is situated in the business district and is close to Nairobi National Museum and Kenya National Theatre. The property is less than 30 minutes from the airport and conveniently located for onward safaris out of Nairobi. Room amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless internet, LCD televisions with premium cable channels and balconies accessible via sliding glass doors offering city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Nairobi Transit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Transit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.