We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff who provide good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Transit Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Transit Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nairobi Transit Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi 29375-00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
rabat
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly staff who provide good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

After going from one horrible hotel in Nairobi after another, coming to the Transit Hotel was a god send... it is not that they did anything superhuman.... They simply had a clean hotel, friendly staff, an underground car park that is safe, a place to eat that had good, clean affordable food, a bathroom with working facilities and they give you all of this for around $50 (4300 KSH) an excellent deal in a city that prides itself on having horrible hotels, rude, dangerous police and smog and traffic tie ups that will make you cough black mucus for days.

Room Tip: This is a great hotel for someone who does not want to waste their companies money, and for someone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
12
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

With one day to go i was told that my flight was cancelled so arriving in evening I had to get a hotel room PDQ. Got this one through expedia after checking the reviews, the price was much less that most other hotels.
They arranged a pickup from airport and on arrival @ 10:00 the taxi was allowed into the compound before dismounting.
Reception was friendly and efficient. The room was clean with ensuite toilet and shower although did not get any hot water, may have come through if I had persisted but preferred to get to sleep.
Woken at 05:30 when the matatu buses started to fill up under the window, prearranged wake up call was received as requested.
As I was leaving 6:30 next morning I do not know what the breakfast was like as only starts 07:00.
Would I stay again? If I needed to as a stop over I would not say no

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

With the newly completed Thika road, makes access to the hotel much easier. though the parking is a bit wanting in terms of space and direction. Regardless the ambiance is okay, and menu offerings are great. The steak was great, well done, and the vegetables were done just right. For the restaurant, i would give it a 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Room was burglarized in this middle-class urban hotel. Although duly notified of the hazards of Nairobi travel, this hotel unfortunately was not appropriately equipped with room safes, and did not acknowledge the risks and previous thefts they had sustained.

Rooms were also over-stated on the website. Lack of hot water for the sink, lack of screens or mosquito nets, broken locks on patio doors and drawers (where valuables were to be kept), all made for a somewhat disappointing stay. And bed was overly firm for most tastes.

As a bright spot, morning breakfast was always cooked to order and delivered by a cheerful hardworking restaurant staff. Simple tasty dinners were also available when didn't want to go out to dinner.

Room Tip: Request use of hotel safe for valuables. Upper floor room gets away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTHManagement, Owner at Nairobi Transit Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Gust02,

Thank you for your feedback. In our bid to constantly improve, we appreciate all feedback from our guests.

The incident that occurred during your stay with us was indeed unfortunate and we would like to unreservedly apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken this unique incident seriously and we are in the process of upgrading our security arrangements to include, for example, CCTV throughout the premises.

On a lighter note, we are glad you enjoyed eating at our restaurant. The food we serve acts as a metaphor for Nairobi Transit Hotel; simple, tasteful and affordable.

Kind Regards,
Management Team
Nairobi Transit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Its not in the best part of Nairobi but we turned up at 11pm and knew we were being collected at 7am. There was people hanging around but taxi waited til security arrived to bring us in so wasnt a problem. The room was clean, it had wifi and breakfast in the morning was fairly good for what you would expect. Its a fair bit cheaper than other hotels in this city but you get what you pay for, if your are after a basic room etc I would reccommend this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Nairobi Transit hotel is a decent hotel by Nairobi standards, and especially if you dont want to pay the crazy prices that the socalled 5 star hotels are charging. The receptionist staff is very friendly and professional and the rooms are ok. The free internet is working ok. The TV is small and they only have local channels. Included breakfast is decent, and they can bring it to the room for an extra charge of around 6 USD.

The major drawback about this hotel is its location. It is located right next to Ngara busstation and a market, so it is not safe to walk around outside the hotel. Also the buses start making a lot of noise from 5 am in the morning. I was not able to sleep after that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with as little noise as possible from the bus station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed there one night arriving late from the airport and leaving next morning. A mosquito net would have been nice. We felt a bit unsure of the safety of the area. So left the hotel only with car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Transit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Transit Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi 29375-00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nairobi Transit Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi Transit Hotel is a modern, affordable, business-friendly hotel on the edge of Nairobi's CBD. The hotel is situated in the business district and is close to Nairobi National Museum and Kenya National Theatre. The property is less than 30 minutes from the airport and conveniently located for onward safaris out of Nairobi. Room amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless internet, LCD televisions with premium cable channels and balconies accessible via sliding glass doors offering city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Nairobi Transit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Transit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.