We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, ok rooms and terrible location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Transit Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Transit Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nairobi Transit Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi 29375-00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service, ok rooms and terrible location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Nairobi Transit hotel is a decent hotel by Nairobi standards, and especially if you dont want to pay the crazy prices that the socalled 5 star hotels are charging. The receptionist staff is very friendly and professional and the rooms are ok. The free internet is working ok. The TV is small and they only have local channels. Included breakfast is decent, and they can bring it to the room for an extra charge of around 6 USD.

The major drawback about this hotel is its location. It is located right next to Ngara busstation and a market, so it is not safe to walk around outside the hotel. Also the buses start making a lot of noise from 5 am in the morning. I was not able to sleep after that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with as little noise as possible from the bus station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
13
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed there one night arriving late from the airport and leaving next morning. A mosquito net would have been nice. We felt a bit unsure of the safety of the area. So left the hotel only with car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We wanted a place to stay between flights, and the Nairobi Transit Hotel was relatively convenient to the airport. The beds were OK, but a bit hard. Hot water was a problem. Dinner was fine and inexpensive. The area was loud and unattractive, and I wouldn't have wanted to walk around at night, but it was fine as long as we were just using it to get in and out of taxis. Overall, we saved some money by staying here, and we didn't regret our decision.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakuru, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Totally loved the experience at the transit. Racheal the receptionist was very good and friendly.The ambience is good, room was clean and the sheets as well. Breakfast was good. Only thing was the lack of the mosquito net which i hope they have sorted by now. Otherwise a great place to stay in and would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. It was our first trip to Nairobi, and we were unsure about the safety and area. When we arrived the receptions staff was very helpful and kind. Our room was nice and clean and we had a balcony. The hotel is a short distance from the city center so we were away from a lot of the noise which was nice. Ambrose the hotel Manager was incredibly helpful. He helped us with tours, taxi, and was able to get my husbands ATM card back from a Barclays when it was taken by the machine! I would definately recommend this hotel. There is also a restaurant and bar which is good for a quick inexpensive meal. There is also Wifi in the rooms, which are cleaned every day. Overall this was one of the best hotels we stayed at on our trip. The staff was excellent! -Elisa and Ryan

Room Tip: we were on the 4th floor which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night and was so impressed with the service and the friendliness of the people, I would definitely go back.

Fridah and Rachel at reception were super helpful by arranging everything I needed (from arranging taxi's to organising phone calls from South Africa and printing my boarding passes!) And the room service was cheap, fast and the food very nice.

I couldn't get wifi reception in my room or in the restaurant, which was disappointing. But managed to get a faint signal in the corridor. Also, the surrounding area is quite noisy (since it's right next to a busy street) and not much for the eye but that didn't really bother me as I wasn't there for long.

The room was clean and had everything I needed. Breakfast was very nice and served by friendly and helpful waiters. Service is definitely high on the priority list at the NTH!

I would go back without thinking twice!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Transit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Transit Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi 29375-00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nairobi Transit Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi Transit Hotel is a modern, affordable, business-friendly hotel on the edge of Nairobi's CBD. The hotel is situated in the business district and is close to Nairobi National Museum and Kenya National Theatre. The property is less than 30 minutes from the airport and conveniently located for onward safaris out of Nairobi. Room amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless internet, LCD televisions with premium cable channels and balconies accessible via sliding glass doors offering city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Nairobi Transit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Transit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.