We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT HANGOUT JOINT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brew Bistro & Lounge

Brew Bistro & Lounge
Piedmont Plaza, 671 Ngong Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“PERFECT HANGOUT JOINT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I like the fact that the dinning area and hang out area have been separated. If you are looking to go catch a meal, you will have your dinning section tends to be a bit private and if you want to hang/ go out it is separated. I do like that idea as one will have their own space for enjoying heir meal. This has been the most appropriate hangout joint for me. Anytime you like to to out I would recommend Brew Bistro. The ambiance, the crowd, the drinks..name them. All enjoyable. But over the weekends mostly Fridays, make sure to reserve a table in advance.. And by advance I mean exactly that, sometimes even a weeks advance will guarantee you a table. but that should not discourage you, you will always end up getting space from those leaving. For a person who loves cocktails, they make among the best cocktails have ever had, you will not be disappointed. I love going here with my friends and girls, it always ends up to be one of those memorable evenings. I almost forgot to mention the music, I love Fridays as they usually bring one of the best djs in town. Only time am disappointed is when I want to hang out till late over weekdays as they usually close early at around midnight. Otherwise, plan to go here and you should not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    93
    22
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Always a delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Brew Bistro is a favourite of ours with a great menu choice, lovely ambience and different setting. They brew their own beer on location and also have a fine dining restaurant. The roof top gets extremely busy, so it is advisable to book a table especially on Wednesday Salsa nights and weekends. The balcony can get very smokey for a non smoker however, but there is limited indoor seating available.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great local beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great place to hang out, recommend to order the special with the beers they brew. The beer is excellent, and saying that as one who usually doesn't enjoy beer. Minus is that it can become way too crowded on the busiest nights, plus is that the food is also very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“extremely noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Food is okay and the ambiance nice and modern. However do not forget to bring ear plugs! It is a din where conversation is impossible. In the weekends extremely busy, hardly space to move around. I will give it a miss in future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Variable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The menu is vary varied, which in itself provides a huge amount of relief if you have been traveling around Africa for a while!
I had the beef tournadoes with lobster and it was incredible, so good I would have given 5 stars on that alone. My wife, on the other hand, had a very disappointing meal. Choose your meal with care!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brew Bistro & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Brew Bistro & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brew Bistro & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.