We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular spot for locals and expats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brew Bistro & Lounge

Brew Bistro & Lounge
Piedmont Plaza, 671 Ngong Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Popular spot for locals and expats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Brew Bistro is a popular restaurant in Nairobi, it is right after Junction Mall. Its dining area is seperate than the bar section which makes it quite for dinners. Even though restaurant does not offer a big menu, it specializes in meat. Their meat is nicely cook and served. Bar section gets very crowded after 9pm especially during Friday nights and weekends. Reservation is highly recomended for those days. The unique thing about Brew Bistro, restaurant offers its own bear, even though I amnot a bear person, I heard it is very good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    93
    20
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The ambiance is great, the food is tasty albeit pricey. Place is frequented by young professionals and is a good spot to meet classy people. Went there on a Saturday night and it was packed almost to capacity by 8pm. Enjoyed the resident DJ mixes sitting out overlooking Ngong road.The chicken wings are tasty and the beers are refreshing.Beware of the cops along Ngong road, they almost always will stop you for a breathalyzer and often you have to part with a few Ksh.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I have now eaten at both the bar and the restaurant here several times -the restaurant was a decent experience, with good quality tasty food, just very expensive for small portions. The bar, which I have frequented often in the last year, has Great food, for a little more reasonable price. I have few fave spots in Nairobi but this is one of them. Yes, it's more expensive than other places but that's what you have to pay for a chef who knows what they are doing I guess~! I have tried many different items on the menu and never been disappointed. And they have a great happy hour. Also, hands down they have some of the best beer in East Africa. So if you are tired of tasteless beer and want something with a little more personality and complexity -grab a brew here. It is popular so it gets loud at night -and they have karaoke, salsa, etc. nights so if you like that, it an be hopping. Only disappointed that they stopped serving lunch this fall -have had great sunday brunch there before. The service is fine, though not exceptional. I hope that they continue in excellent quality food -thats not always the case over the years in Nairobi, but I have my fingers crossed for BB!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“My Favorite hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I love micro breweries and absolute love this place.The beer sampler is worth every penny,large glasses,well priced and tasty beer.The food and service is great and the crowd is hip.The place fills up on the weekends so make sure you make a reservation.Check the days they have Happy Hour as as its 2 for the price for one on beers and cocktails.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“food and bar with atouch of class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

One the best places to visit on a Friday night, classy setting, good music and the food was out of this world. Wine was great too. A friend took me there for my birthday and was I pleased!!!! The bar area gets a bit crowded though and seats are hard to come by. It is worthwhile to dress up smart as you will not feel out of place. Do visit while in Nairobi, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brew Bistro & Lounge also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Brew Bistro & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brew Bistro & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.