We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great micro-brewery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brew Bistro & Lounge

Brew Bistro & Lounge
Piedmont Plaza, 671 Ngong Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great micro-brewery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

If you are visiting Kenya for the first time and are not interested in 'big brewery' beer, this is the place to go to. The restaurant is over-rated but the bar has few peers in Nairobi for sampling good lager brewed on-site. A little bit of the Bistro's earlier exclusivity and sheen has been dulled by the fact that they are now supplying their lager brands a little more widely: to homes and other bars. But let this not discourage you, you will enjoy yourself here. I recommend the sampler rack which allows you to travel the full range of the bar's beer range. I always go back every two or three months - even though the place is not conveniently located for me. Enjoy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    51
    84
    15
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for drinks and snack food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Met with friends here on Friday night. Very lively atmosphere, and yes if you want a quiet meal, this is not the place to go. Bar was pretty full but we sat at the bar and had drinks and some snack food which was really good. They brew their own beer and offer a sample beer platter which consists of 5 smaller glasses of each of the most popular brews. Yes it is noisy and sometimes difficult to have a conversation but I will definitely go back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addis ababa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“WORST night with my GF after a long day/ week trip....!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

one of the worst experience of my life... I wanted to eat, but they closed the kitchen; in the louge there was not place and that stupid indian manager could not let us stay just for a steak in the "closed restaurant" where more than 10 people were already there... stupid, not flexible management! the food, eating standing on that stupid lounge!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nice & happening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

one of the happening places in Nairobi with cosmopolitan crowd....not very large in size, it has good music, curteous service, good variety of drinks/ cocktails and decent food

happy hr till 7, the place really comes alive on weekends and late hours

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Micro Brewery visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This bar was recommended by friends and as we are lovers of micro brewing we thought we could combine eating and drinking. Our first problem was not the bars fault the directions for bar on this website were miles out. If travelling from Central Nairobi the bar is on the right hand side before you get to Junction Shopping Mall not near the Race Course at all. We visited on a Sunday evening to find the bar very busy, as we only wanted a light supper we decided to stay in the bar area. Staff were great at finding us seats, at first at the bar then as soon as a table came free moved us to outside seating area. As it was our first time there we had the small sample board of beers which helped us to decide which beer to drink. As I said earlier as we only wanted a light supper we decided to share a couple of the starters. We were disappointed here because the restaurant/bar offered a sharing tapas which we would have loved, but the choice included chicken wings which neither my husband and I like and would not swop them for the mini burgers. Would go and visit bar again if only for the beer and the lively atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brew Bistro & Lounge also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 
Nairobi, Kenya

Been to Brew Bistro & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brew Bistro & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.