We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vibe, food & drinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brew Bistro & Lounge

Brew Bistro & Lounge
Piedmont Plaza, 671 Ngong Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good vibe, food & drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Love this place for an after-work drink, and for build your own burger night. The terrace is not good for conversation as the music is really loud. The fancy restaurant is OK, but the menus are different, so you can't just make the shift halfway through the night. The happy hour is really great, though, and brunch on Sundays pretty good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    50
    84
    15
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place for a drink and dinner, but not for conversation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Had a lovely dinner at the Brew Bistro, but had to move off the terrace as the Band was so loud that I could not hear my dinner companion at all. We moved into the dining room, which was almost deserted. The terrace was hopping (it was a Thursday evening).
Food was tasty, just the right amount, and the service was great, if a little too busy. For example the waiter kept sweeping the crumbs off the table in front of me, even the the midst of a conversation.
The Dining room is ok, nice booths, but feels a little bit institutional.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wow! A delightful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Oddly positioned upstairs in an unremarkable building, this impressive modern microbrewery serves a great & varied drinks menu & delicious modern European cuisine.
My man & I tried the metre beer sampler, which was delicious & great value. The Gado Gado starter was lovely, crunchy & fresh. My man's tomato soup was nicer than the one i make!!
I then ate the tastiest chicken burger ever, which included avocado, roasted pepper & blue cheese!
Despite being absolutely stuffed, we ordered the baked cheesecake, which was enormous & superb. We also had the chocolate decadence which was chocolate heaven.
I really can't recommend this place enough!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Have been to the bar before but it gets sooo crowded after a while it's a nasty experience and you have to leave. The bar is very small and on populate night of the weeks it's a nightmare being there is,Olaf to being a sardine in a can and waiter service collapses at that point. I did go to the dining side with 2 of my girl friends and it's amazing how nice it it. There are not too many tAles so you have to make a reservation to avoid disappointment. The dining side is completely sealed off from the bar and you cannot hear the noise at all and the atmosphere is very nice. Food is excellent. One of my girl friends is a vegetarian and she completely enjoyed her dinner! I would definately go back there. Trouble is after dinner it's kind of an anticlimax going to the pub area. After a while we had to leave.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, bad beer smell at entrance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful lunch, the beef is amazing. Had not been here for about one year. Good to go back and see the quality is still up to per. Should consider a solution for the beer smell that hits one the moment you get to the entrance of the restaurant. Stale beer, not really a welcoming smell.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brew Bistro & Lounge also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Brew Bistro & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brew Bistro & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.