We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! A delightful surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brew Bistro & Lounge

Brew Bistro & Lounge
Piedmont Plaza, 671 Ngong Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 318 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wow! A delightful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Oddly positioned upstairs in an unremarkable building, this impressive modern microbrewery serves a great & varied drinks menu & delicious modern European cuisine.
My man & I tried the metre beer sampler, which was delicious & great value. The Gado Gado starter was lovely, crunchy & fresh. My man's tomato soup was nicer than the one i make!!
I then ate the tastiest chicken burger ever, which included avocado, roasted pepper & blue cheese!
Despite being absolutely stuffed, we ordered the baked cheesecake, which was enormous & superb. We also had the chocolate decadence which was chocolate heaven.
I really can't recommend this place enough!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    53
    85
    16
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Have been to the bar before but it gets sooo crowded after a while it's a nasty experience and you have to leave. The bar is very small and on populate night of the weeks it's a nightmare being there is,Olaf to being a sardine in a can and waiter service collapses at that point. I did go to the dining side with 2 of my girl friends and it's amazing how nice it it. There are not too many tAles so you have to make a reservation to avoid disappointment. The dining side is completely sealed off from the bar and you cannot hear the noise at all and the atmosphere is very nice. Food is excellent. One of my girl friends is a vegetarian and she completely enjoyed her dinner! I would definately go back there. Trouble is after dinner it's kind of an anticlimax going to the pub area. After a while we had to leave.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, bad beer smell at entrance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful lunch, the beef is amazing. Had not been here for about one year. Good to go back and see the quality is still up to per. Should consider a solution for the beer smell that hits one the moment you get to the entrance of the restaurant. Stale beer, not really a welcoming smell.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor Service Poor Management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

It's a good location, good setting. On a slow night, you may be happy. On a busy night - do not bother. Staff are slow, will try inflate your bill, will be rude and despite engagement with management, they will do nothing about it.
Have had several unfortunate incidences here, with staff, one including being confronted with a broken beer bottle.
Have given up on the place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food and nice bar area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is an interesting place because they have a back room of sorts that has fine dining, but then the front part of the restaurant becomes a lively bar area on weekends. If you're there for dinner on a weekend try not to sit next to the door as the waiters only have one way in and out of the kitchen and the music blasts whenever the door opens.

Great food though and service is usually pretty good.

It's also a great place to grab drinks with friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brew Bistro & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Brew Bistro & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brew Bistro & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.