We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, bad beer smell at entrance.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brew Bistro & Lounge

Brew Bistro & Lounge
Piedmont Plaza, 671 Ngong Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 314 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, bad beer smell at entrance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful lunch, the beef is amazing. Had not been here for about one year. Good to go back and see the quality is still up to per. Should consider a solution for the beer smell that hits one the moment you get to the entrance of the restaurant. Stale beer, not really a welcoming smell.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    50
    84
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor Service Poor Management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

It's a good location, good setting. On a slow night, you may be happy. On a busy night - do not bother. Staff are slow, will try inflate your bill, will be rude and despite engagement with management, they will do nothing about it.
Have had several unfortunate incidences here, with staff, one including being confronted with a broken beer bottle.
Have given up on the place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food and nice bar area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is an interesting place because they have a back room of sorts that has fine dining, but then the front part of the restaurant becomes a lively bar area on weekends. If you're there for dinner on a weekend try not to sit next to the door as the waiters only have one way in and out of the kitchen and the music blasts whenever the door opens.

Great food though and service is usually pretty good.

It's also a great place to grab drinks with friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“what an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is definitely the gem of Nairobi

I decided to meet with a friend here just to catch up. I had never been here previously and, it took me a long drive which was absolutely worthwhile.

At the Bistro and, as we waited for our table, I got a chance to study the decor. The restaurant had a simple yet elegant design. The brewery and wine collection in glass gives it a casual fusion feel. From where we were sitting, we had a clear view of the entire place. Waiters were pleasant and helpful, serving best-tasting food at a good value in a clean and comfortable setting

It is a well-run restaurant, with a nice menu selection. They brew their own beer here, but the cocktail selection is bigger

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Jazz Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have visited Brew Bistro several times over the last two years but the visit on the April 25th was exceptional.My friends and I arrived right at 5pm when "Happy Hour" started and for the next two hours,we enjoyed ourselves.Not being a beer drinker,I enjoyed several glasses of "Mamba" drink while the rest enjoyed beer.During happy hour,you get a second free beer after you purchase the first one.Happy hour is great for beer drinkers since you get two for the price of one!By early evening,a jazz group played very good jazz music.I requested the group to play Hugh Masekela's "Grazing in the Grass" which they did very well.Brew Bistro is pricey but worthy of indulging in every now and then.Different nights have different genre of music/theme.I will return again soon.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brew Bistro & Lounge also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Brew Bistro & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brew Bistro & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.