We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to wine anddine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brew Bistro & Lounge

Brew Bistro & Lounge
Piedmont Plaza, 671 Ngong Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Nairobi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to wine anddine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Totally loved the place. The wine was superb and the wine was good. However the place was crowded and took us a while to get sitted. The place is also pricey but worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    104
    25
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Crowded with young locals and expats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Brew Bistros is a unique place with is beers. They produce their own beer selection which is displayed in the restaurant. They have many varieties for beer lovers. Their meat is best in Nairobi, delicious and nicely served. They have main restaurant section which is quite and they have bar side which is crowded with young locals and expats. Brew is one of the restaurants' we go to dine on a regular basis. By the way not a place you take your kids with you.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great beer & Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I tried the taster selection of beers - save some space and go for the half metre version - to chose a good beer and found that I could happily have chosen any one of those on offer. The Tapas choice was good and so was the food when it arrived. The place has a good buzz to it which goes with a bit of crowding and noise, but it's comfortable. The staff are friendly and efficient.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good for all sorts of nights out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Brew has two distinct areas, a high end (and price) restaurant which is quiet and can lack atmosphere mid week when it is virtually empty, and a more raucous tapas bar area. For an intimate meal or to chat with friends I would recommend the tapas bar before 1900 , or the restaurant at any time. In the evening the tapas bar gets seriously crowded and the music (often live) gets cranked up, so you can say goodbye to conversation. Good for a lively night out though, particularly in groups. The beers produced are of good quality with two for the price of one offers early evening. The tapas dishes are excellent,and good value with a variety of different influences, not just Spanish. The meals in the restaurants are more substantial and damaging on the wallet, but they know how to cook meat. One other thing worth mentioning is the private room, which groups of 10 to 15 can book, and which puts distance between you and the seething mass of humanity outside!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwerne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere terrible food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place used to be one of my favourite places to go for great food, especially the steaks, and a lively bar scene. Since I left Kenya a few months ago, this place has changed chef and now has a new one who has carried on the same menu but hasn’t carried on the standards of taste and style of the previous guy.
I went to the bar a few days ago for dinner with a friend and we shared the Thai fish cakes as a starter, although it looked exactly the same as it did under the previous chef there was no flavour to either the fish cake or the chilli dipping sauce at all. Really bland and boring, I’m afraid. We then both had the steak brochette cooked medium rare. As i said this place was great for its steaks and i was really looking forward to this. When it came out it was a reasonable sized portion but the meat was really tasteless and had a slightly processed texture to it that one gets with cheep and badly hung meat here. The skewers themselves were obviously cooked on a grill that was nowhere near hot enough so instead of having a good caramelised and tasty exterior this was more of a slightly stewed and watery finish to the meat. The accompanying sauce was bland and tasted more like something out of a packet rather than a homemade one.
The bar itself is still really busy and a good place to go for drinks and to see what’s going on in the city but I would avoid the food at the moment until the chef takes better control and oversight of what is going in his kitchen and gets the place back to where it used to be.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brew Bistro & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Brew Bistro & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brew Bistro & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.