We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lazy Sunday afternoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brew Bistro & Lounge

Brew Bistro & Lounge
Piedmont Plaza, 671 Ngong Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 314 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Harare, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A lazy Sunday afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Arrived early afternoon before the tempo increased once the mellow music live band started playing. Was able to stlll eat from a brunch menu (opted for version of an English breafast but with fresh juice which was delicious) and the waiters were very friendly although they seemed to be a good number coming to ask us whether we were being served. The place started filling up for lunch and one group moved away from a table directly next to the band because of the volume of the live music- a point to remember next time when we will definitely return for their other meals and the live music in the near future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    50
    84
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“for the energetic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

for a great nightlife with plenty of food and drinks variety, beautiful atmosphere....try the beer variety - "6 pack".....food is great too

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good service, great food,mature crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The brew bistro is a favorite stop in Nairobi. We dined at the restaurant which is divided from the rest of the place and the food was excellent. Very friendly waiters who keep away to give you privacy and prompt in service delivery.

On one occasion we had a special set up on a table reservation just because i had mentioned to the manager i was celebrating an achievement of my partner. The pub gets very crowded from evenings and there's theme evenings,salsa etc.

On such nights reserving a table on the pub side is limited to the 'outside' space which gets chilly and is a smoking zone...the management wont hold a table for you any place else which is really sad.

They packed our food for us which was really nice

Overall; really good

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Great Night Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We went to Brew on a Saturday night. As was expected the place was heaving. Good sign. The service was very attentive and knowledgeable. The menu is excellent and covers most tastes. I chose a steak, which was excellent. My only disappointment was my desert. I ordered the Panna cotta, an interesting combo of Panna cotta, strawberries and Balsamic reduction. All the parts went well together. The gripe was the Panna cotta. Way too much gelatin. Oh and I thoroughly recommend the tree tomato (tamarillo) Mary.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Ambience, Good Music, Good Crowd.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I love this place as the crowd is good and mature, the Dj really knows to read the crowd and play appropriate music. Happy Hour starts from 5pm-7pm and you get a free beer or Mojito with every one you buy, thats a BOGOF. Prices are a bit on the higher side though.If you need some finger food, try the BIG Five Burger or their calamari. Yummy! All in all a very nice experience, wouldn't hesitate to go back there anytime. Their service is excellent too, even if they have a busy night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brew Bistro & Lounge also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Brew Bistro & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brew Bistro & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.