We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely mojitos every time!!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brew Bistro & Lounge

Brew Bistro & Lounge
Piedmont Plaza, 671 Ngong Road, Nairobi, Kenya
2540731006068
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 384 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
nairobi
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely mojitos every time!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went there after attending a concert and was greeted by the lovely sounds of a sax from a band that was paying that Suday evening. Don't know if I am the lucky one or if the offers are regular but I found that they had a mojito offer. Last time I visited the lounge they had the same and they didn't disappoint. They are on point I must say.
We also ordered some fries and chicken skewers that had the nicest sauce I have had in a while. Presentation was lovely but had some issues with the veggies, looked kinda unfresh.
The service could be a little better, the staff seem friendly but when it comes to getting their attention, can get a little bit annoying as they seem to almost ignore you.
The beer sampler is also very nice-my friend seemed to enjoy it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustciru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Beer in Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Most local beers in Kenya are brewed with corn starch now a days. Brew Bistro doesn't ruin their beers by trying to cut corners. Great tasting beer. Tapas food is also awsome.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Over-rated and disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

If all you need is to be in an expat hangout where they serve probably the best beer in town - go for it.
But if you think that there should be some value behind premium price - go somewhere else. Their food is either "nothing special" (calamari rings) or pathetic (Big 5 salad with about 25% of sliced apple and bland seasoning).
Their burgers are just OK - ask for rare if you like it medium done - but don't expect too much from the chips. They can be greasy and overcooked despite the oil not being heated enough. I can't understand why they are so proud of them.
My ultimate recommendation - BYOF (bring your own food) ;-)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank otffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“one of the hypes spots in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Restaurant & pub, the place to start a night out in Nairobi. Menu at the restaurant is exquisite, with not many choices but well-prepared dishes by a team you can see working in a very modern kitchen. The pub, which offers home-brewn beers (with 5 different options), has a theme every night, always attracting a faithful crowd. I specially enjoy Wednesday salsa evenings. I turns out to be a bit crowded on Fridays and Saturdays.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Antonio_em_Nairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

First, I can't say enough about the waiters, bus staff, etc. Each individual performed their respective responsibilities with such pride and effort in order to give each patron the most enjoyable and individual dining experience. This type of service is missing from fine dining. These are well trained and seasoned professionals. I will definitely visit this restaurant again. My husband and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary here and we know we made the absolute best choice. The food was exceptional in quality, taste, presentation, freshness. Atmosphere was elegant, Brew Bistro & lounge is as good as an upscale European or American eatery. Brew bistro has a bar & lounge which serves wonderful tapas food which really pairs well with their in house beers and a Fine dining restaurant which serves a globally inspired cuisine. Don't expect to get your usual African or other international beer brands here as they brew their own beers which will certainly exceed your expectations. Apart from beers you can also choose from a wide variety of cocktails & wines. A place must visit when you are in Nairobi.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pooja21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brew Bistro & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Brew Bistro & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing