We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNIQUE FACILITIES IN A UNIQUE ENVIRONMENT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malewa Wildlife Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Malewa Wildlife Lodge to your Saves list
Malewa Wildlife Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Nakuru-Naivasha Road, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“UNIQUE FACILITIES IN A UNIQUE ENVIRONMENT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

we, too, were "gate1ers" who spent one night at the malewa. i will second what has been said previously by other reviewers. they have a great staff and funky architecture. the rooms are adequate and the bathroom huge. we never did find the hot water in the shower and managed to flood the bathroom while looking for it. needless to say, the cold water shower was invigorating. our nature walk was interesting and the night game drive was also.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bernards
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful Eco lodge. I won't repeat everything said in the other reviews, but I agree with with what they said. The staff was great, the activities informative and fun. The cottages were roomy, basic but nicely appointed. I commend Gate1 for finding this gem.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Tripadvisor has this listed in Nairobi, however it is actually near Gilgil which is several hours away. It is a very nice lodge, the staff is awesome and it only has 10 cabins so it will never be crowded. We did a night game drive and saw all kind of different animals EVEN a Leopard, which is a very rare sight. We really enjoyed our say and I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

A beautiful and peaceful lodge that is well off any main highway. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, with the hot water bottles in the beds at night. The staff were welcoming. Our guide was knowledgeable about the plant life as well as animal life. The food was great. This is the place for anyone who really wants to get away from city life and become one with nature. Animals seen- zebra, nubuck, wart hogs, giraffes, hyena and one that I had not heard of before- a dick dick.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here only one night as part of a Gate1 safari, and it was an excellent spot. Good game viewing, combined with an optional night game drive and good food and accommodations made for a great stay. The cabins are basic, but nicely done, some overlooking the river. We had Cape Buffalo walking along the trail behind our cabin towards the lodge early in the morning. The nature walk they do is excellent, and puts you on the ground and sometimes close to the animals. The food was good and the hot water bottles in the bed at night appreciated, as it does get cool this high up.
All in all we would recommend this place wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: The rooms in the cabins overlooking the river are great. The "honeymoon" cabin even has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I could only repeat everything that was said in the other reviews here. It was an amazingly magical experience, right down to the hot water bottles that were placed in our beds to take off the night time chill!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Sally & David were such good hosts, they greeted us upon arrival. Their staff were so helpful with taking our bags to our individual huts. While heading to the lodge we saw several rare Rothschild Giraffe, Spotted Hyena, Cape Buffalos. We went on dusk hike with Paul the Malewa Wildlife Guide and viewed several Wart Hogs with their young, so funny to watch them eat. In fact while having our in creditable dinner of grilled lamb chops and vegetables a male Wart Hog was enjoying the grass lawn down from the open dinning area. You could even hear him ripping up the grass, I commented to Sally that I liked their lawn mower in the bush.

Room Tip: There are some huts nearer to the river area where the hippos feed, but all the huts are incredible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.3 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
5.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#6 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
5.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#10 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
3.8 mi away
Palacina Residence & Suites
7.3 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malewa Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malewa Wildlife Lodge

Address: Nakuru-Naivasha Road, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:4 star — Malewa Wildlife Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malewa Wildlife Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.