We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flamingogal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malewa Wildlife Lodge

Save Saved
You added Malewa Wildlife Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malewa Wildlife Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Nakuru-Naivasha Road, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
“Flamingogal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I could only repeat everything that was said in the other reviews here. It was an amazingly magical experience, right down to the hot water bottles that were placed in our beds to take off the night time chill!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Sally & David were such good hosts, they greeted us upon arrival. Their staff were so helpful with taking our bags to our individual huts. While heading to the lodge we saw several rare Rothschild Giraffe, Spotted Hyena, Cape Buffalos. We went on dusk hike with Paul the Malewa Wildlife Guide and viewed several Wart Hogs with their young, so funny to watch them eat. In fact while having our in creditable dinner of grilled lamb chops and vegetables a male Wart Hog was enjoying the grass lawn down from the open dinning area. You could even hear him ripping up the grass, I commented to Sally that I liked their lawn mower in the bush.

Room Tip: There are some huts nearer to the river area where the hippos feed, but all the huts are incredible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited this lodge on September 29th, 2013. We really enjoyed it. The accommodations were unique, clean and large. Staff is very helpful and seem to take pride in their work. We booked this lodge through Gate 1 Travel. It was one of two lodges we stayed at. We pick it as the best of the two. if we would ever return this would be a must to stay at again. You get up close and personal with nature. We saw so much on the game drives. We also enjoyed meeting people from the village. All around a great time.

Room Tip: All huts were nice, any in am sure would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This lodge was my favorite accomodation during our 8 day Kenya Safari with Gate 1. The staff was friendly and attentive and the meals were excellent. Our room was a river suite and we LOVED it! Peter took us on a nature walk and did a fantastic job of explaining medicinal plants and guiding us through the incredible scenery. The night time game drive was also exciting as we got to see a den of Hyenas with several babies that came right up to the vehicle! I would highly recommend this lodge and only wish we could have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from a safari trip and stayed here with a Gate 1 package on September 8th. Our entire stay was fantastic! The rooms are amazing, some directly on the Malewa River overlooking incredible scenery. The entire staff was outstanding. We did the nature walk, and our guide Peter was extremely knowledgeable and had a great personality. The food was delicious as well, be sure to try the soups they were wonderful. The game drives were great, we saw a ton on the daytime drive, and on the night were up close and personal with a hyena den. Could not have been happier with our stay, highly recommend this place for a real African experience

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed during a safari trip. The cabins were adorable I felt like I was in a hobbits house until I walked in. The rooms were spacious and very clean. At night its cold and they actuallu have turn down service and bed warming. We slept with the sound of hippos below in the river bank. Went on a nature hike and it was amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location, excellent and hospitable staff, nice with children and are very flexible. You do feel that they are doing their utmost to make you feel at home. I also like the way the lodge is integrated with the community and environment.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malewa Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malewa Wildlife Lodge

Address: Nakuru-Naivasha Road, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 94 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malewa Wildlife Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Malewa Wildlife Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malewa Wildlife Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.