We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malewa Wildlife Lodge

Save Saved
You added Malewa Wildlife Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Malewa Wildlife Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Nakuru-Naivasha Road, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from a safari trip and stayed here with a Gate 1 package on September 8th. Our entire stay was fantastic! The rooms are amazing, some directly on the Malewa River overlooking incredible scenery. The entire staff was outstanding. We did the nature walk, and our guide Peter was extremely knowledgeable and had a great personality. The food was delicious as well, be sure to try the soups they were wonderful. The game drives were great, we saw a ton on the daytime drive, and on the night were up close and personal with a hyena den. Could not have been happier with our stay, highly recommend this place for a real African experience

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed during a safari trip. The cabins were adorable I felt like I was in a hobbits house until I walked in. The rooms were spacious and very clean. At night its cold and they actuallu have turn down service and bed warming. We slept with the sound of hippos below in the river bank. Went on a nature hike and it was amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location, excellent and hospitable staff, nice with children and are very flexible. You do feel that they are doing their utmost to make you feel at home. I also like the way the lodge is integrated with the community and environment.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

While on a Gate 1 Kenyan Safari adventure we had the pleasure of staying at the Malewa Wildlife Lodge for one night, I wish it would have been more. The property is in the preserve and there are no fences, so it is not uncommon to have wildlife roaming around the grounds. If one needs to leave their cabin after dark you walk out the door and wave the provided flashlight/torch and an escort will come to you and escort you anywhere you need to go. Each room is an individual isolated cabin, offering ultra privacy. The cabins are rustic yet elegant. The staff were extremely friendly and the service was awesome. We went on a walking safari and learned a lot of the fauna and flora from a very knowledgeable guide. Later in the evening we went on a night safari in a safari vehicle. Plenty of wild life to see and photograph. I got some amazing photos both during the day and the night drive. The food was excellent and the Tusker beer was cold! Our cabin was huge and had a king sized bed, wrap around porch, a crows foot bathtub on the porch and a wonderful view of the Malewa River. There are no modern conveniences like television, telephone, or internet, however they are not missed while staying here. The hot water bottles under the covers at night was a pleasant surprise. Also, Maasai Mara is very eco-friendly. Another pleasant surprise was during dinner, they had posted that dessert was Chef's Surprise, the lights where dimmed and the staff came out singing happy birthday to my wife in Swahili, and they had a cake wishing her a happy birthday and us a happy anniversary, as we were celebrating both. I had casually mentioned it to my Gate 1 rep when I booked the trip. Gate 1 took care of all the bookings and logistics and everything worked out smoothly with no snafus. This wasn't a trip it was an amazing adventure. Thanks Gate 1.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent two wonderful days at this great quiet lodge. Walked around the park light setting to see many local animals. The sun-downer and evening game drive were experiences not to be missed. The setting, staff and accommodation were worth the rough drive into the lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were fortunate to stay at the Malewa Wildlife Lodge in February 2013. There were only 8 Albertans at the time and we were treated loyally. We were there for Valentines Night and they set up and decorated a table by the wood burning fireplace and served a fabulous dinner. Our lodges were huge and very clean and so cool that our hot water came from a woodburning stove. The wildlife viewing tour was exceptional along with the hippo viewing bridge. We found the staff to be very accommodating and so personable. We loved the hot water bottles put in your beds every night. Would highly recommend this secluded property if you are travelling Africa.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The rooms are all small separate buildings and are very large. We spent Christmas eve and day here and was our third stop on our safari. The staff are very personable and really accomodating. What we liked about this place was the solar power, the system used for hot water, the hot water bottles brought in to warm us in the evenings. It was such a peaceful, quiet place where you could lie in bed and hear the hippos nearby. This was the most authentic accomodations we stayed in and hope that they don't modernize.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malewa Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malewa Wildlife Lodge

Address: Nakuru-Naivasha Road, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 88 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malewa Wildlife Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Malewa Wildlife Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malewa Wildlife Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.