We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful escape from Nakuru and Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malewa Wildlife Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malewa Wildlife Lodge
Save
You added Malewa Wildlife Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Nakuru-Naivasha Road, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A peaceful escape from Nakuru and Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spent a weekend at the lodge with some colleagues. Absolutely enjoyable. It is quiet, secluded and simply a perfect place to do nothing at all... or perhaps a light game drive or walk (few real predators in the area). Rooms were overly large with nice decor. Showers were amazing (large, spacious, great temperature, bath products). Staff were friendly and attentive. The road to the lodge is of poor quality, but they provide a 4x4 to meet guests at an entrance gate a few miles from the lodge near the main road.

Again, a great place, but a few suggested improvements: Food, while of good quality, portions were on the smaller side as compared to other lodges I have been to. The marketing of being able to bicycle and fish is a bit of a stretch as the pathways are a bit rough and you're more likely to catch a nice tan than any fish on a hook. The river is poorly stocked with fish.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I really do not want to give this little place a bad review as we had a wonderful time there but anyone who is thinking of booking there does not to be aware of a few things.

The rooms:
Accommodaton is either in huts or in river suites. We were first put in a hut but did not want to stay there. It was a sunny day but the rooms were cold, dark and there is no outdoor space with the room. We then moved to the river suite. At least they were light and there was a balcony to sit out on. However also that room is quite cold and needs a bit of TLC: paint is peeling off the walls, the shower is showing its age. The room was massive but not cosy, no nice soft furnishings.

The main area
Similar to the rooms, the main area needs sprucing up with nice soft furnishings, a library and a nice outdoor seating area where you could relax in the afternoon in the sun.
I know they want to be eco and all that but they can make the area in front of the lodge a bit more genteel.

Food
The food is failry basic but nice

Staff
Martin is simply wonderful and will do anything to make your stay more pleasant

Nightdrives
Hardly recommended. We even saw a leopard!

All in all as said, we had a great time thanks to Martin, George and the wonderful night drives and bush walks. However we felt a bit miserable with the room and the main area. It was just not cosy and welcoming. Someone needs to give the place a massive overhaul

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We were a party of 8 traveling throughout Africa and our journey started at Malewa Lodge. What a relaxing, peaceful way to start. The staff were so friendly and welcoming particularly the host. It is the most beautiful setting, wonderful food, an opportunity to get up close with the animals and a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. We had the privilege of being at Malewa over New Year and following a magnificent dinner we joined the host for a New Years Eve we will never forget. It started at the local country club and ended with a huge party in a field not far from the lodge. What an adventure! Memorable and so much fun! Thank you so much. We will recommend Malewa to all our friends. There is no doubt that this years new year celebrations will pale in comparison to last year's adventure.

Room Tip: The room with the outdoor bath tub is very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Sitting down to write this review, I am honestly at a loss for words. We have had the most amazing stay at Malewa River Lodge. The staff made us feel incredibly welcome and relaxed. The guide who took us on both of our River walks was incredibly informative and enthusiastic, and went out of his way to make sure we saw all that the Kigio conservancy has to offer. The food is delicious, and plentiful! Staying at Malewa, you really feel like you have found a little piece of Africa that is undisturbed and away from all the crowds that you may find in other parks. We would recommend Malewa to our closest friends and family, and hope to make a return visit ourselves one day...... Thank you guys, for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Malewa River Lodge is relatively unknown but shoule be more widely appreciated. It is not far off a main road but wonderfully unspoilt. Perhaps an hour and a half from Nairobi, its riverside location is great for bird and animal life but its height means that there are no serious mosquitos. Don't expect big cats round every corner or great herds of anything, it's not that sort of place, but you can get up close to giraffe and hippos. When we stayed (six of us in three thatched bungalows) we were the only people there so we had wonderful service. The food was great in the evening and after our meal we sat round a roaring fire, wrapped in Maasai shukas, provided by the Lodge. We had a free guided walk by the river with a hugely informative guide. If they hae any economic sense they'll charge a few shillings for this and keep the project solvent. The lodge and the rest of the project is both eco-friendly and sensitive to the local community, which, if I'm right, has a share in the project itself.

In the ratings below, only an idiot would want a swimming poolm or a spa here and kids who need 'activities' should be left at home. Kids who appreciate nature close up and, I think, a few board games in the evening would be fine.

Wheelchair access would be difficult but perhaps not impossible. Worth checking this beforehand.

On the all important breakfast test, 'How close does it come to an Ulster fry?' Pretty close indeed, if they ever discover the delights of soda farls and fadge, they'll be perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Malewa Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malewa Wildlife Lodge

Address: Nakuru-Naivasha Road, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:4 star — Malewa Wildlife Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malewa Wildlife Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.