We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, but scary” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi

Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   General Wairungi Street | Pumwani district, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Prague
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cheap, but scary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is located in one of the most dangerous areas in Nairobi. Actually it is middle of Somalian ghetto. Some taxi drivers even refuse to go there. Also - due to road "construction", the car is dealing with muddy and bumpy road, making it very slow. You'll get soon surrounded by beggars. Make sure the car is locked and never open a window. Once you're behind the fences guarded by security team, you're safe.
The hotel itself isn't bad at all, rooms are ok, breakfast was fine and staff helpful. I used in only for one during my transit. For that purpose - you may consider it. But I wouldn't reccommend it for a longer Nairobi stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Ego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a brilliant stay in this hotel 3 nights in a superior room last month and 2 nights recently both times the service is great,the food delicous,room the superior is 28 sq metres,brilliant breakfast eggs are cooked to order, ok it is situated out of town with a new road being laid but realise you best catch a taxi anywhere at night in Nairobi, George Franklin the charming Maitre D / Supervisor will have you smiling.

Room Tip: The Superior is huge with cupboards,drawers,writing table, fridge,plasma all on participating websit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is so clean.
The room are big and precious and is a place like home
Friendly and honest employees.
Bed sheet are of the standard of five star hotel.
Near to the CBD.
Affordable prices both for locals and foreigners.
International menu and Somali menu that makes it more interesting

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William123468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I would say the hotel itself is nice, BUT the location is one of the worst in Africa. If you get there in a taxi with presidential tints and you're quickly whisked into your room without roving your eyes on the surrounding then this would be one of the good hotels in Nairobi especially at the price. However, you cant avoid the noise, the stench, the sickening rubbish strewn allover the areas , trenches and impassable roads full of raw sewage water and God knows whatelse. You can stay at this place if you dont mind the sensation of having suicidal Somalis looking at you both in the hotel (most of the clients are hard core Somalis) and outside with the look saying ' what are you doing in our neighbourhood you infidel. I'mma drop a grenade on you'.

In short the environment is not welcoming and there is no sense of security around this place. Save more money and go to a hotel in a better area.

Room Tip: If you REALLY have to stay at this place,get the deluxe rooms, they cost a few extra dollars but are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mtwakazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Leaking bathtubs, bad location. On top of it all, they charged me extra for a room that we didn't even stay in. When confronted, Abdul Bare told me that they have already processed the transaction and should be getting the money in my bank in the next 2 days. It's been a month and I still haven't gotten the refund!

Stay away, the location is also really bad! The noises in the early morning was very disturbing as well! Couldn't sleep well!

Room Tip: just stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel is very well maintained, clean and lovely. The staff is very friendly and professional, especially Frederick, the manager. The neighborhood is poor, but the people are very friendly to tourists. I walked around by myself, and was welcomed by all. The hotel is also a great place for "people watching" - many exotic foreigners.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marblehead MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

After reading tripadvisor reviews and viewing lovely photos on their website, I was shocked. This place is awful. We needed a comfortable place for one night, close to the airport, it was neither. The neighborhood is scarey, the road it is on is completely ripped up, it was so far from the airport, that even leaving an hour and a half to get there,we missed our flight.
I am baffled at the reviews and the website photos.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smwrldtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Oryx Hotel
#99 of 145 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#56 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#85 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67 Airport Hotel
#34 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Saab Royale Hotel
#32 of 145 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Qaribu Inn
#35 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi

Address: General Wairungi Street | Pumwani district, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing