We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but Horrible Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi

Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   General Wairungi Street | Pumwani district, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but Horrible Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I would say the hotel itself is nice, BUT the location is one of the worst in Africa. If you get there in a taxi with presidential tints and you're quickly whisked into your room without roving your eyes on the surrounding then this would be one of the good hotels in Nairobi especially at the price. However, you cant avoid the noise, the stench, the sickening rubbish strewn allover the areas , trenches and impassable roads full of raw sewage water and God knows whatelse. You can stay at this place if you dont mind the sensation of having suicidal Somalis looking at you both in the hotel (most of the clients are hard core Somalis) and outside with the look saying ' what are you doing in our neighbourhood you infidel. I'mma drop a grenade on you'.

In short the environment is not welcoming and there is no sense of security around this place. Save more money and go to a hotel in a better area.

Room Tip: If you REALLY have to stay at this place,get the deluxe rooms, they cost a few extra dollars but are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
14
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Leaking bathtubs, bad location. On top of it all, they charged me extra for a room that we didn't even stay in. When confronted, Abdul Bare told me that they have already processed the transaction and should be getting the money in my bank in the next 2 days. It's been a month and I still haven't gotten the refund!

Stay away, the location is also really bad! The noises in the early morning was very disturbing as well! Couldn't sleep well!

Room Tip: just stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel is very well maintained, clean and lovely. The staff is very friendly and professional, especially Frederick, the manager. The neighborhood is poor, but the people are very friendly to tourists. I walked around by myself, and was welcomed by all. The hotel is also a great place for "people watching" - many exotic foreigners.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marblehead MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

After reading tripadvisor reviews and viewing lovely photos on their website, I was shocked. This place is awful. We needed a comfortable place for one night, close to the airport, it was neither. The neighborhood is scarey, the road it is on is completely ripped up, it was so far from the airport, that even leaving an hour and a half to get there,we missed our flight.
I am baffled at the reviews and the website photos.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights, and it is a great modern hotel, food was excellent, rooms big and spotless equal to a 4 star hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. The only downside was the location not a place where you can just stroll down the road, but for a stop over I think it is great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecatu, Indonesia
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This hotel was listed on Booking .com at a favouable rate for Nairobi stating it was only 15 mins from the centre. It may be in a helicopter but on Nairobi's roads??
The hotel room itself was actually not bad as we had booked a Deluxe room. It was spacious and airy, however cleanliness wasn;t first rate. Debris behind the floor to ceiling curtains and the bed headboard. The worst aspect of this hotel is it's location. It is on a very busy road in a distinctly dodgy area. It doe's have a secure compound around it with at least three guards at each of the 2 gates. It seems to cater mainly for a Somali clientel and the immediate area is very largely one of displaced persons. If you do stay here you will need to go everywhere by pre-arranged taxi.
Not really one to recommend for tourist .

Room Tip: DON'T take a room at the front, you won't get much sleep!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi

Address: General Wairungi Street | Pumwani district, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.