We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Plate

China Plate
The Chancery | Valley Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 317 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Just up Valley Rd from the Pan Afric hotel - there is also another one in Nairobi, but I have not been to that one.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Got better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Since my last visit, both the food and service have improved. The dishes came quickly and piping hot and the portions were so large we could not finish it all. The service was attentive and helpful.
The decor is nice and good atmosphere
I would recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    9
    14
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wowed during my Birthday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

one of those birthdays where the surprise dinner turns Chinese. been here a couple of time s and their food is always fascinating. i however "always" go for the mild options. China plate is among the busiest restaurants in town and going at it early to secure a seat is highly recommended. the one in wetlands sounds like was underran and in this case am recommending the one in community along ralph bunche road. Traffic jam can be an issue on that side of town during the week!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“GOOD CHINESE FOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Have known this restaurant for a very long time and this is the place I usually choose for business luncheons and take aways for my family. The reception and service by the waiters is very good which is one thing I am always very particular about. Spacious seating and cleanliness is another plus for them. When it comes to the food, it is just perfect. Their deep fried prawns are to die for and the varities of dishes leaves you spoilt for choice. All I can say is that I have never been disappointed all the times I have been there. It is a must vist for anyone wanting to sample Chinese cuisine and they even ask you if you want them to pack for you left overs if they are substancial. I recommend it for any business luncheion or just for a lovely meal with friends or family

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pretty GOOD Chines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I knew this restaurant about 2 years ago, because it was on the way to my apartment. Anyway, the restarurant is located on the first floor of office building. It is quite spacious and quiet atomosphere and very authentic Chinese retaurant. Food is quite tasty and good. Especially, prawns are very good when I went there. It is recommendable for any occasion. Especially with business use.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Indo chinese restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Well ya Indo Chinese is a term which ws first coined in Calcutta by a Chinese migrant (A lot of chinese live and trade in Calcutta since decades). The rastaurant is usually full and book a place in advance but for me it was an okay experience. I guess a lot of people may like it though.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Plate also viewed

 

Been to China Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Plate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.