We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty GOOD Chines” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Plate

China Plate
The Chancery | Valley Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 361 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Just up Valley Rd from the Pan Afric hotel - there is also another one in Nairobi, but I have not been to that one.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pretty GOOD Chines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I knew this restaurant about 2 years ago, because it was on the way to my apartment. Anyway, the restarurant is located on the first floor of office building. It is quite spacious and quiet atomosphere and very authentic Chinese retaurant. Food is quite tasty and good. Especially, prawns are very good when I went there. It is recommendable for any occasion. Especially with business use.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Indo chinese restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Well ya Indo Chinese is a term which ws first coined in Calcutta by a Chinese migrant (A lot of chinese live and trade in Calcutta since decades). The rastaurant is usually full and book a place in advance but for me it was an okay experience. I guess a lot of people may like it though.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Food Poisoning March 2nd 2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Sad to report that my dinner date and i have experienced severe food poisioning after having dinner there last night.My date did notice that the beef did look quite right,there was something 'off' about it.My date was not too lucky as by the time we were leaving he was already experiencing discomfort which turned out to be food poisioning when we got home. I suffered the same today and it was not a pleasant experience at all.Having eaten there before and enjoyed my meals,i must say that this was probably a one-ff experience,but i won't be going back there soon :(
I'd also prefer a hot towel or the hot bowl of water with lemon instead of the wipes they bring to the table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have never been disappointed with this place. The chicken wings are out of this world. Food is great too. Juices are too sweet though.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“bang bang noodles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

china plate is a memorable hotel on valley road-so close to the city-they serve large enough portions, which is what i liked about them plus the food is totally worth it. i had bang bang noodles. just because i thought the name was fun and sachewan chicken or something like that . i recommend it for a date

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Plate also viewed

 

Been to China Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Plate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.