We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bang bang noodles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Plate

China Plate
The Chancery | Valley Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Just up Valley Rd from the Pan Afric hotel - there is also another one in Nairobi, but I have not been to that one.
nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“bang bang noodles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

china plate is a memorable hotel on valley road-so close to the city-they serve large enough portions, which is what i liked about them plus the food is totally worth it. i had bang bang noodles. just because i thought the name was fun and sachewan chicken or something like that . i recommend it for a date

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    9
    14
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Chinese what?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

First, are we talking about Chinese or Indo-chinese. The latter is not chinese. It is simply the Indian version of what they think is Chinese. Anyways, this place is rather disappointing - it does not size up to either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
“Real Cuisine on short notice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I had a Business meeting that did not factor in lunch offer. A friend advised me to hold the meeting at The Chancery and visit China Plate for lunch at a short notice,the meal was great and my guests enjoyed the rice cooked and served within the hour!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food spoilt by aggressive waiters”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The restaurant is located in an office block and other comments about the baby wipes and lack of chopsticks are accurate.

The food was some of the best Chinese food I have eaten. What really spoils this restaurant are the aggressive waiters (to give you an idea - think of nightclub bouncers dressed as waiters).

The menu lists two sizes of dish "small" or "large". Clearly it's impossible to know how big each is. So the waiter will tell you what size you must order (large of course) because he knows how hungry you are without even asking you. A large portion is easily enough for 3 hungry adults.

When paying the bill my friend asked for the card machine to be brought. "The machine is by the door" said the waiter "Don't worry we won't copy your card" - would a card thief admit that? But after three requests, the card machine was grudgingly brought to our table.

Then the fun really started:

The waiter asks my friend to fill in a tip on the card receipt - except there was nowhere to write a tip on the card printout. Again the waiter asks for a tip to be written, again my friend says there is nowhere to write it and we offered to leave a tip in cash.

A third time the waiter asks us to fill in a tip on the card slip. By now this is getting quite intimidating. After a fourth time of asking us to write a tip, he finally gives up and realises that we are not going to give in.

This is like being mugged in an open restaurant. Sadly most of the waiters look like boxers and unlike every other restaurant in Nairobi, the welcome is far from warm. A real shame because the food is excellent and plentiful (even for a small portion!) Just don't ask how big the portions are....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Maybe I should not compare a Chinese in Nairobi to one in Europe but in my opinion is was just OK
Food was OK Good portions but a little bland. No chopsticks offered. Service a bit on the slow side.
Not particularly cheap.
As one other reviewer stated, baby wipes instead of hot towels is not so good.
I will not be rushing back

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Plate also viewed

 

Been to China Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Plate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.