We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Plate

China Plate
The Chancery | Valley Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 337 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Just up Valley Rd from the Pan Afric hotel - there is also another one in Nairobi, but I have not been to that one.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Hot food, very intresting... nice ambiamce, downside is that food can take time to come, like 20-30 mins...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Different from the regular Chinese fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Nice restaurant within walking distance of my hotel. Good ambience. The staff were very friendly, and service was quick & efficient. The food was very tasty and slightly different from the routine Chinese dishes you get in most Asian & African "Chinese" restaurants. Will definitely visit again if I am in that area.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“Not Bad for Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had a quick lunch here and went to the China Plate because of the advice from our local travel agent.

Good service and good food for being in Africa. Not really authentic but acceptable like many Chinese restaurants found outside of China or Asia. Location was nice and security was very good as the restaurant is situated on the first floor of a gated building.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Perfect for Business or Leisure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

China Plate has a great variety of good Chinese food. Pleasant decor, good service, Excellent place for a business lunch (it has private areas as well as opening all afternoon).
Reasonable prices, Interesting wines.
If you are looking for either a quick or extended meal this is worth a look

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Entertaining meal - excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We were a party of four close colleagues and we had a great evening - we were given a corner table with a large lazy susan and were able to share our choices casually. Most especially the food was excellent, the service quietly attentive and the prices reasonable. Only the duck disappointed but the rest, including the egg rice more than made up for this.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Plate also viewed

 

Been to China Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Plate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.