We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Red Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bellevue, off Mombasa Road, Red Cross Road | P.O Box: 26601 - 00100, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed at the Red Court for 2 weeks during a business trip to Kenya.

The rooms are well maintained and the staff is friendly.

The Hotel is owned and operated by the Red Cross.

I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Front Office Manager at Red Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time off your schedule to share your reviews about our hotel.

We are glad to have hosted you for the two weeks you were in Nairobi and even more glad that our services met your expectations.

We are happy to be fully owned and managed by the Kenya Red Cross Society whose main mission is to alleviate human suffering.

We look forward to offering our best services to all our guests whose contribution goes into the works of the society.



Kind Regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotel | P.O. Box 26601-00100

(office) +254 20 3904000 /604528 | (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
8
2
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My 4:30 am flight was cancelled from Nairobi to Cairo and airport personnel were unable to help find an alternative. I used the hotel board at the Nairobi Airport and lucked out big time by selecting the Red Court. The head of guest services, Angelina, was able to get me in touch with a reputable travel agent who found a flight that made my connection back to the United States. She was extremely efficient, courteous, and prompt. The hotel is lovely in a gated compound with a bank. It is about 20 minutes from Nairobi Airport - definitely one of the closest hotels. As a bonus the Boma, part of the property, donates all profits to the Kenya Red Cross. There is also a great, bird-filled garden between the two buildings. Buffet breakfast was included in the rate and there is a $15 transport to the airport in a private car. If you ever get stuck in Nairobi, go to Red Court or the Boma and see Angelina!

Room Tip: Face the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Front Office Manager at Red Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Madam,

Greetings from Red Court Hotel, Nairobi!!!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience about the Red Court on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to have hosted you while stranded in Nairobi and more glad that one of our executives, Angeline managed to assist you fully. As a team, we value our guests and we all try our level best to assist our guests.

I have passed your remarks to Angeline who has made us proud and look forward to hosting you again while in Nairobi.

Kind Regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | Red Court Hotel | P.O. Box 26601-00100
+254 20 3904000 /604528 | : (cell) +254 728 606 476/8/734 973 512/3 |
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed 11 nights while on volunteer assignment. My host NGO obtained a reasonable rate for bed and breakfast. I took all dinners there because there is not much else around the location in an industrial area of Nairobi. Each meal has a buffet, which I did not use because it seemed way too much food and was expensive (2050 Ksh, about $24). The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is solicitous. There is a health club, which I did not use. The food tasted OK, but to me, at least, was often disappointing, especially the hamburger I tried. It was oddly seasoned. My room was noisy early, but I adapted.

Room Tip: I think higher floors might be quieter; a day room we took on the 4th floor seemed nicer than the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Immediately upon arrival, we were told that we didn't have a reservation after having pre-paid via Hotels.com. Then when I produced a receipt, they acknowledged the reservation but said it was a rate for 1 person. Then after producing an online receipt that included it was for 2 people, they finally stopped trying to swindle us. The accommodations were very over priced for the room provided, and there was quite a bit of noise that evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed at Red Court for 2 weeks.It was a great stay... the staff and management are very pleasant and courteous and I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed 2 nights - I didn't book it myself but thought the rack rate a lot - I gather we paid very much less, as you can if you take care. But the staff were enormously helpful - trying to sort our airline check-in for us when the airline system was down, producing coffee and light breakfast at 4.30 a.m. and always ready with chat and help. They are opening a posher part over the road and rebranding soon, but I'm told the pool and facilities of the posh end will be available to all guests. Watch out for it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Front Office Manager at Red Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Mr. Damian,

Thank you for the very encouraging remarks on the services offered at the Red Court Hotel. We endeavor to offer top notch services to all our guests and make Red Court their second home while in Nairobi.

I will definately share your feedback to the entire team.

We are opening a five star hotel next to the Red Court hotel in the next month. The new hotel, 'The Boma' will have 148 spacious rooms consisting of a state of the art health club facilities, an executive lounge with an excellent view of the Nairobi National Park, Complimentary Wireless Internet, a heated swimming pool and five Food & Beverage outlets which serve various cuisines from African, Oriental and International cuisines.

We look forward to hosting you in your future visit to Nairobi and you are most welcomed to savour the services of The Boma.



Best Regards,

Kibwana. K. Ali
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We had two nights in this hotel and the staff could not be friendlier. Good service and food, although the buffett style could get boring if you were staying for more then a few days. Rooms were good and clean. The rack rate is quite high so make sure you book in advance through your tour operator to get the best deal

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Front Office Manager at Red Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Red Court Hotel!!!

Thank you for choosing Red Court Hotel for your stay while in Nairobi. We are definitely grateful for your review. We will always keep our cleaning standards high for days to come and offer quality hospitality at all times.

While our food is good as mentioned, the buffet was not up to your satisfaction and we will take this positive with our Food & Beverage team to rectify this and ensure that its always tantalizing.

We look forward to hosting you, your family and friends in your next visit to Nairobi.


Best Regards,

Kibwana. K. Ali
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Court Hotel

Address: Bellevue, off Mombasa Road, Red Cross Road | P.O Box: 26601 - 00100, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Court Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Red Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.