We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer beware...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Boma Inn Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Boma Inn Nairobi to your Saves list
Boma Inn Nairobi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bellevue, off Mombasa Road, Red Cross Road | P.O Box: 26601 - 00100, Nairobi, Kenya (Formerly Red Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Buyer beware...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Immediately upon arrival, we were told that we didn't have a reservation after having pre-paid via Hotels.com. Then when I produced a receipt, they acknowledged the reservation but said it was a rate for 1 person. Then after producing an online receipt that included it was for 2 people, they finally stopped trying to swindle us. The accommodations were very over priced for the room provided, and there was quite a bit of noise that evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
9
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed at Red Court for 2 weeks.It was a great stay... the staff and management are very pleasant and courteous and I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed 2 nights - I didn't book it myself but thought the rack rate a lot - I gather we paid very much less, as you can if you take care. But the staff were enormously helpful - trying to sort our airline check-in for us when the airline system was down, producing coffee and light breakfast at 4.30 a.m. and always ready with chat and help. They are opening a posher part over the road and rebranding soon, but I'm told the pool and facilities of the posh end will be available to all guests. Watch out for it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Front Office Manager at Boma Inn Nairobi, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Mr. Damian,

Thank you for the very encouraging remarks on the services offered at the Red Court Hotel. We endeavor to offer top notch services to all our guests and make Red Court their second home while in Nairobi.

I will definately share your feedback to the entire team.

We are opening a five star hotel next to the Red Court hotel in the next month. The new hotel, 'The Boma' will have 148 spacious rooms consisting of a state of the art health club facilities, an executive lounge with an excellent view of the Nairobi National Park, Complimentary Wireless Internet, a heated swimming pool and five Food & Beverage outlets which serve various cuisines from African, Oriental and International cuisines.

We look forward to hosting you in your future visit to Nairobi and you are most welcomed to savour the services of The Boma.



Best Regards,

Kibwana. K. Ali
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We had two nights in this hotel and the staff could not be friendlier. Good service and food, although the buffett style could get boring if you were staying for more then a few days. Rooms were good and clean. The rack rate is quite high so make sure you book in advance through your tour operator to get the best deal

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Front Office Manager at Boma Inn Nairobi, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Red Court Hotel!!!

Thank you for choosing Red Court Hotel for your stay while in Nairobi. We are definitely grateful for your review. We will always keep our cleaning standards high for days to come and offer quality hospitality at all times.

While our food is good as mentioned, the buffet was not up to your satisfaction and we will take this positive with our Food & Beverage team to rectify this and ensure that its always tantalizing.

We look forward to hosting you, your family and friends in your next visit to Nairobi.


Best Regards,

Kibwana. K. Ali
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I recommend any booking for a safari or airport transfer or hotel booking through Lion Trails Safaris. Bernard the main man is efficient intelligent and there to be helpful. Redcourt is one of the hotels he uses. It is ideal for a short stay especially if travelling through JKIA. It is clean well run with very helpful and friendly staff. The evening meals menu might be a bit better priced for what you get but otherwise no complaints at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

A 3 weeks stay in this hotel close to Nairobi center, in a quiet surround. A remarquable hotel, with excellent service, very good - at times even outstanding kitchen. The staff is very professional, attentionate and pleasant, at all time. Probably the best hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Front Office Manager at Boma Inn Nairobi, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Paul,

Greetings from Red Court Hotel, Nairobi!!!

Thank you for your excellent remarks about our hotel and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very much pleased with your comment on our staff being professional, attentive and pleasant and we will endevour to instill the same working culture throughout our operations now and in the future.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Red Court Hotel while in Nairobi

Best Regards,

Kibwana. K. Ali
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stopped here on our way through Nairobi; it's clean, convenient, quiet, and the people were nice. For the price our tour operator quoted us on it, it was a very good deal. However, we tried to get ourselves in there again for an unexpected stop-over, but the price quoted by the hotel was twice what we thought we'd paid through your operator. For $130, it was fine, since business hotels in Nairobi seem to be fairly pricey by our standards; but at $250, not so good. Amenities were fine, by the way, but there was no screen in the windows - quite the surprise.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Boma Inn Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boma Inn Nairobi

Address: Bellevue, off Mombasa Road, Red Cross Road | P.O Box: 26601 - 00100, Nairobi, Kenya (Formerly Red Court Hotel)
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boma Inn Nairobi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Boma Inn Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boma Inn Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.