We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owner Joseph is an excellent host who is always around to ensure that guests have a good time and enjoy their meals.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pheonician Restaurant

Pheonician Restaurant
Junction shopping center at Ngong Road and Kingara, Nairobi, Kenya
Update restaurant details
Ranked #43 of 301 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Lebanese
Description: Also does Japanese I think
Restaurant details
Description: Also does Japanese I think
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The owner Joseph is an excellent host who is always around to ensure that guests have a good time and enjoy their meals.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The food is is wonderful, as a Lebanese myself it is eating away from home. The tabouleh is sour enough as it should be and the meat is tender (lahme mishwi). The batata harra (potato with lemon, olive oil, chilli and garlic) is to die for and the bread is baked in house so hot and fluffy. The restaurant is beautiful and spacious with a nice balcony for those who smoke. There is a sushi bar and everything is fresh and prepared beautifully.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    9
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A bit more than average, but less than very good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Good mix of Lebanese and international food... It was good, and decently priced. Nice outdoor seating.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I enjoyed my dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I enjoyed dinner at Phoenician Restaurant recently. The owner was charming. Food was very good. Though I know that the upper level restaurant is meant to be 'fine-dining', I enjoy the outdoor seating on the ground floor at Junction.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great food, great atmosphere (the downstairs outdoor seating) and a wide variety of really fresh sushi! Love the spicy tuna rolls - what a crunch! The owner is a really nice gentleman and very friendly and accommodating. Definitely makes you feel at home.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Lebanese food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Restaurant upstairs is really nice, spacious, good service. We've had the Lebanese food every time we go there, their sushi is a bit overpriced compared to other restaurants/hotels. The 'small' Lebanese dishes are the best, their main courses are a bit boring and over-grilled sometimes.
Don't let them put you at the tables at the end of the partition on the right, you get bumped EVERY time by passing waiters!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pheonician Restaurant also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Pheonician Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pheonician Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.