We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything under one roof” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Utamaduni Craft Centre

Utamaduni Craft Centre
Bogani East Rd, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 24 Shopping in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Everything under one roof”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

After hearing from my friends about Utamaduni, I paid a visit to the raft center. It is right next to Catholic University in Karen. What make Utamaduni special is you can find all the crafts, textiles, gifts under one roof. They have a nice coffee right next to the centre surrounding by beautiful greenery. Prices are higher than street vendors but they are much more nicely displayed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeynep V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Visby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and good place for souvenir shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stopped here mostly for lunch and were suprised! The food (we ate vegetarian ravioli) were wonderful, the best we hade on the whole visit.

As the crafts store is very big with several small shops in one place you need a little time if you want to see everything. We were here on our first day of the visit, but a good plan could be to go there the last day when you might know what you need and want to buy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank StW739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, Surrey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A very good place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Only went there for lunch as recommended by our favourite safari company - WILDLIFE SAFARI of Nairobi.
As the place was full, the four of us had lunch under a lovely sheltered arbour. It was teeming with rain, which made it all the more fun. Very well looked after by rain soaked waiters who continued to smile even though they were drenched bringing us our meals. The food and wine was extremely good and we were not rushed in any way. Thoroughly enjoyable time was had by all. Would recommend it and next time we're in Nairobi, we will have a good look at the shop.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lainey6477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place for local gifts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I visited here one afternoon and loved it, alot of gifts to chose from and about 20 different little shops in one place, proces also were some of the best we found. the cafe on site also does a very nice lunch allowng you to recover from the shopping, well worth a visit....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Dom1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Must if you are in Karen during the day - one stop for all the souvenirs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a great spot for one stop shopping - its a house that has been transformed into room after room of different crafts, sculptures, cloth, beaded products, tea, coffee, high end sculpture...you name it.

I was able to find some really great souvenirs - there's one room just for kids, which is very reasonably priced with books, stuffed animals, and really cute clothes.

I ended up coming back twice as the prices were really fair and the selection was spot on.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DC-IMF-FAOtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Utamaduni Craft Centre also viewed

 

Been to Utamaduni Craft Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing