We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant and good place for souvenir shopping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Utamaduni Craft Centre

Utamaduni Craft Centre
Bogani East Rd, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Shopping in Nairobi
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Visby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and good place for souvenir shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stopped here mostly for lunch and were suprised! The food (we ate vegetarian ravioli) were wonderful, the best we hade on the whole visit.

As the crafts store is very big with several small shops in one place you need a little time if you want to see everything. We were here on our first day of the visit, but a good plan could be to go there the last day when you might know what you need and want to buy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, Surrey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A very good place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Only went there for lunch as recommended by our favourite safari company - WILDLIFE SAFARI of Nairobi.
As the place was full, the four of us had lunch under a lovely sheltered arbour. It was teeming with rain, which made it all the more fun. Very well looked after by rain soaked waiters who continued to smile even though they were drenched bringing us our meals. The food and wine was extremely good and we were not rushed in any way. Thoroughly enjoyable time was had by all. Would recommend it and next time we're in Nairobi, we will have a good look at the shop.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great place for local gifts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I visited here one afternoon and loved it, alot of gifts to chose from and about 20 different little shops in one place, proces also were some of the best we found. the cafe on site also does a very nice lunch allowng you to recover from the shopping, well worth a visit....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A Must if you are in Karen during the day - one stop for all the souvenirs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a great spot for one stop shopping - its a house that has been transformed into room after room of different crafts, sculptures, cloth, beaded products, tea, coffee, high end sculpture...you name it.

I was able to find some really great souvenirs - there's one room just for kids, which is very reasonably priced with books, stuffed animals, and really cute clothes.

I ended up coming back twice as the prices were really fair and the selection was spot on.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Handicrafts from all over Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

A bit of a hike to visit if you are staying in the city. Make a day of visiting Karen and include this with the Giraffe Sanctuary and Elephant Sanctuary. Its a great place to while away a bit of time if you are waiting for the inevitable late night flight out of Nairobi. We have been 3 times to Utamaduni. You need time to browse each room as it is a virtual treasure trove of artifacts from around Africa. If you are travelling as a couple and your partner does not like shopping, time your visit around lunch as there is an outdoor garden restaurant which does reasonably priced meals and serves drinks and snacks all day.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Utamaduni Craft Centre also viewed

 

Been to Utamaduni Craft Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Utamaduni Craft Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.