We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to spend a night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hogmead

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hogmead
Kikenni Road, Nairobi 00509, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice to spend a night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here on our one night in Nairobi on our way to Masai Mara. We had crammed in a visit to the elephant orphanage which is very close. The hotel/house was very pleasant with a lovely garden, lovely rooms and bathroom. The food is a set menu - easily accommodated my non fish preference at the last minute and it was all very tasty. The drinks at the bar were great and service was very good. Limited atmosphere though with no music...there were speakers, but no ability to play music which was a shame. The only downside was the shop which had some lovely items at RIDICULOUS prices. A good stop over point.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
5
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We ended a 10 day safari in Kenya with a day room at the Hogmead Hotel in Karen, Nairobi whilst we waited for our evening flight home. The publicity offers great hospitality in an ideal setting but we hardly recognise the hotel from some of the reviews on this site. The main hotel and lounge area were spacious and beautifully furnished. The hospitality, however, was virtually non- existent and a notable contrast to that we had enjoyed at three Governors' Camp locations we had visited on the trip. We were greeted on arrival and offered tea and that was it. Nobody subsequently spoke to us or asked if we had everything we needed or if everything was OK. The day rooms were small, bare, cell-like rooms with thin walls that did not keep out the noise and no AC, so sleep was not easy. The garden was dry and devoid of colour - not what we had expected from the blurb. Dinner was good although, with a set menu, we were not offered a choice of food or even asked if we had food allergies or were vegetarians - we were not subsequently asked if we liked it or not.
Although priced within our overall trip their website quoted rates are $150 per person for the day room with dinner (wine and alcoholic drinks extra) - this really is poor value.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building look good on the website although we did not see them. However, I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

with horses grazing, warthogs running around and giraffes in the back ground!!!
Staying at Hog mead is like staying at a private estate lodge, surrounded by wonderful grounds The main house is full of wonderful African art, you are surrounded with warmth and you feel like you are staying in a home with friends. Great bar and lounge, and wonderful service and food.
It was a great last night before flying back home.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with a terrace overlooking the grounds!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaraLinck, Manager at Hogmead, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear bortonoverseas,

Firstly, thank you very much for your positive and informative review!

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that it was a 'home away from home' experience. We like to think that all our clients arrive as guests and leave and friends. We are happy to hear that you felt the same!

The giraffes, warthogs and most of all the Hogmead team look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

we had an excellent experience at the Hogmead. The manager and owner were very accomadating and helpful. we had just finished a month of traveling and we needed a couple days of downtime, and some last minute shopping before heading back to the States. They were great in reccomations of what to do in Niarobi, and where to do some last minute shopping. The staff was great and saved the day when our ride to the airport failed us. I would highly recommend the Hogmead!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaraLinck, Manager at Hogmead, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear michelleavery,

Thank you for posting your review of Hogmead on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and accommodating, that you managed to relax before your journey back home. We do stive to make our guests feel at home.
We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our recommandations of places to visit in Nairobi - especially the shops and restaurants in the vicinity.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hogmead in the near future!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a wonderful welcome having had a long journey before our flight back to the UK. Our flights were confirmed for us (thank you Cara), beautiful rooms were made available for us to change and freshen up before dinner. Harry Dyer took the trouble to introduce himself to us and ask after our safari. We had booked a set meal which was delicious. The warthogs on the lawn were entrancing to watch and all in all the transition back to the UK was made easier by our wonderful send off from Kenya. I would recommend any one who needs a short stay in Nairobi to book into Hogmead.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaraLinck, Manager at Hogmead, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Fiona D,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us at Hogmead before your transition and flight back home. We are also happy to hear that the management and our warthogs were attentive (and entrancing)!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, especially to spend more time with us and to see Hogmead by day.

All the best,
Hogmead Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had the most amazing time at Hogmead, especially after such a long safari throughout Kenya. My husband and I have had the privilege to of been able to travel extensively across the world, and I must say that there is no place like Hogmead.
We were exhausted from the constant on-the-move holiday that just sitting at the Bar, watching the sun set behind the Ngong Hills and enjoying the Warthogs company was pure bliss.
The management and staff were beyond fantastic, always looking after us and making us feel more than at home! What a delight it was being welcomed into such a beautiful and relaxing 'home'. The food was to die for, as if we didn't eat enough during our safari! But we certainly couldn't pass on what they served us.
Hogmead was a great transition back to the 'city life' - but I can tell you that it is far from being a city hotel! It boarders a Giraffe Sanctuary, and the hotel garden is HUGE! You hear lions at night from the National Park not far away, and there are the most amazing species of birds that live in the garden.
Is is a must to stay here in Nairobi, its certainly the best part of the city!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mara room - it is huge! And the view of the Ngong Hills was the cherry on top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaraLinck, Manager at Hogmead, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Raina,

Thank you very much for your positive and informative review! We are very glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Hogmead and that it was a relaxing transition on your journey back home.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, soon we hope!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Absoloutely appauling management. We were planning on getting married at Hogmead on 9th December 2012. The wedding date had been set with Hogmead. Deposit paid and the wedding invites had been sent out... everything was good to go. After numerous meetings with Hogmead to ensure that noise levels will not be an issue Fuzz Dyer sent an email just a month before the wedding to say that the wedding has to be cancelled and Hogmead cannot go ahead with the wedding. Not only did this cause a great level of stress in finding a new venue but just showed the level of poor management of Hogmead and unproffesionalism had to offer as they have not even contacted us since they wrote a brief email to explain they cannot accomodate the wedding anymore.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaraLinck, Manager at Hogmead, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Mr Shah,

We apologize that we were unable to host your wedding at Hogmead and completely sympathize with you, the cancelation was very late and must have been very stressful and for this we are deeply sorry.

Your reservation was cancelled through unforeseen circumstances completely out of our control. The decision for us to cancel your wedding at Hogmead was extremely difficult and we are all very sorry that we couldn’t host you on your special day.

We do hope that you managed to find an alternative venue, albeit at such short notice, and you had a wonderful wedding in spite of being badly let down by us at Hogmead. We would love to have the opportunity to host you and your wife in the future in one of our properties FOC in order to try and make up for the stress we have caused you.

Please call us, we would love to try and make amends.

The Hogmead Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hogmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hogmead

Address: Kikenni Road, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 88 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hogmead is a boutique 'home from home' in Nairobi, situated in the peaceful outskirts of the city, with easy access from both the International and Domestic airports. Hosted by Jay Macleod and Richard Muhehe, this is a highly personalized retreat from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi. Come and enjoy Nairobi the way it is meant to be: with lovely views of the Ngongs, peaceful surroundings and great hosting. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hogmead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hogmead to your Saves list