We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hogmead

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hogmead
Save Saved
You added Hogmead to your Saves list
Kikenni Road, Nairobi 00509, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 95 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

There's no doubt this property has been beautifully built, with attractive public areas, gardens and although I didn't see other rooms, our room on the ground floor was spacious with lots of natural light. However this property would not suit everyone.

There aren't many rooms/guests at this property and when the host have their family and friends there, it feels like you are a stranger in their home. My preference is always to stay at boutique properties that are unique, however this is the first time I have ever felt a property can actually be too small - It felt uncomfortably intimate and awkward. Perhaps it would have been more comfortable if there were more guests than the hosts family and friends. Sorry to share that I was keen to leave the next morning. I will return to Giraffe Manor on my next visit to Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceKenya, Public Relations Manager at Hogmead, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Hi ForeignShores,

Thank you very much for your comments about Hogmead, and about the luxurious accommodation that we offer.

We realise that being such a small, and niche property, that it won't suit everyone. The feed back that we have received from our guests has been fantastic and everyone feels completely at home at Hogmead, so we are really very sorry to hear that you felt that the atmosphere was awkward. This is most unusual, and your comments are hugely valuable to us. We will look into the dynamics being created on the occasions when family members are in Nairobi and happen to visit us at Hogmead. Your observations have been well noted and we will ensure that our usual atmosphere is maintained. Thank you again for your comments, and if you would like to write to us in more detail, please do – susan@hogmead.com is the best address.

We hope we have the opportunity to host you again at Hogmead.

The Hogmead Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
5
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

After a long airplane trip, this place recharges you as a stopover. We only stayed for the nights but was well worth it. Its a must to stay out of the city because the roads are being re built and the traffic jam going to the city is one of the worst I've seen not to mention the pollution! Staying here is a rest one must have before proceeding to the mara safari. One the nicest botique resort I've stayed.

Room Tip: try to get the corner ground room or the second floor. the room near the dining is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Hogmead offers the perfect mix of a stunning setting, warm hospitality and comfortable rooms. I slept better at Hogmead than I do at home, no doubt helped by the constant supply of ice cold Tusker Malts that never seemed to stop coming as the sun set over the distant hills. Jay and Venetia manage Hogmead with a real attention to detail, putting guests immediately at ease. Supper each night had more of a family dinner party atmosphere than hotel and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Fantastic location with excellent rooms, food and service. Not to mention the excellent hosting of Jay & Venetia. I know of know where better in this city! Would recommend it to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Where else can you be a stones throw from a capital city and be able to enjoy a gin and tonic watching giraffe's at the bottom of the garden!
Hogmead is like no where else I have ever been; a stunning setting for a very peacful and relaxed start and end to a safari holiday. Fantatsic food, beautiful bedrooms, brilliant and attentive staff. Venetia is a wonerful host and made sure that everything was perfect.
I cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I was fortunate to stay with Jay, Venetia and the team at Hogmead during a recent business trip to Nairobi. My business hosts booked this residence and I am pleased they chose Hogmead! This place is absolutely fantastic, whether for business (or pleasure), and I don't think you'd feel more at home, while still having all the luxury and privacy you could desire from a chain hotel, anywhere else.

Rooms are comfortably furnished (actually the bed and pillows were amazing!) with LCD satellite televisions, DVD player, large bath and shower, etc.

Jay and Venetia will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable - even if it means a packed breakfast before sunrise. The standard offering includes a wake-up call with tea or coffee.

The residence is in a very good area of Nairobi but some way from the international airport (Jomo Kenyatta International Airport), so allow ample time for traveling as the traffic is rather chaotic and unpredictable - even early morning or late night.

I stayed at House of Waine on my previous visit to Nairobi, but Hogmead definitely trumps! I would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: The Verandah ground level rooms are convenient & spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this characterful, family-run residence in a tranquil area on the outskirts of Nairobi. Very comfortable, tastefully renovated rooms (master room especially spacious) provided a relaxed, elegant setting complemented by an extremely friendly and hospitable team who made us feel completely at home.

Highlights were the highly attentive service, excellent home-cooked food, charming ambience and a peaceful garden to wander in adjacent to a giraffe sanctuary where game sightings are frequent.

Thank you very much for your generous hospitality and a memorable stay! We had a fabulous time and will highly recommend you to friends passing through Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hogmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hogmead

Address: Kikenni Road, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 95 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hogmead is a boutique 'home from home' in Nairobi, situated in the peaceful outskirts of the city, with easy access from both the International and Domestic airports. Hosted by Jay Macleod and Richard Muhehe, this is a highly personalized retreat from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi. Come and enjoy Nairobi the way it is meant to be: with lovely views of the Ngongs, peaceful surroundings and great hosting. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hogmead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.