We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hogmead

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hogmead
Save
You added Hogmead to your Saves list
Kikenni Road, Nairobi 00509, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Manila
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“a special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

After a long airplane trip, this place recharges you as a stopover. We only stayed for the nights but was well worth it. Its a must to stay out of the city because the roads are being re built and the traffic jam going to the city is one of the worst I've seen not to mention the pollution! Staying here is a rest one must have before proceeding to the mara safari. One the nicest botique resort I've stayed.

Room Tip: try to get the corner ground room or the second floor. the room near the dining is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
5
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hungerford, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Hogmead offers the perfect mix of a stunning setting, warm hospitality and comfortable rooms. I slept better at Hogmead than I do at home, no doubt helped by the constant supply of ice cold Tusker Malts that never seemed to stop coming as the sun set over the distant hills. Jay and Venetia manage Hogmead with a real attention to detail, putting guests immediately at ease. Supper each night had more of a family dinner party atmosphere than hotel and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Fantastic location with excellent rooms, food and service. Not to mention the excellent hosting of Jay & Venetia. I know of know where better in this city! Would recommend it to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Where else can you be a stones throw from a capital city and be able to enjoy a gin and tonic watching giraffe's at the bottom of the garden!
Hogmead is like no where else I have ever been; a stunning setting for a very peacful and relaxed start and end to a safari holiday. Fantatsic food, beautiful bedrooms, brilliant and attentive staff. Venetia is a wonerful host and made sure that everything was perfect.
I cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I was fortunate to stay with Jay, Venetia and the team at Hogmead during a recent business trip to Nairobi. My business hosts booked this residence and I am pleased they chose Hogmead! This place is absolutely fantastic, whether for business (or pleasure), and I don't think you'd feel more at home, while still having all the luxury and privacy you could desire from a chain hotel, anywhere else.

Rooms are comfortably furnished (actually the bed and pillows were amazing!) with LCD satellite televisions, DVD player, large bath and shower, etc.

Jay and Venetia will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable - even if it means a packed breakfast before sunrise. The standard offering includes a wake-up call with tea or coffee.

The residence is in a very good area of Nairobi but some way from the international airport (Jomo Kenyatta International Airport), so allow ample time for traveling as the traffic is rather chaotic and unpredictable - even early morning or late night.

I stayed at House of Waine on my previous visit to Nairobi, but Hogmead definitely trumps! I would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: The Verandah ground level rooms are convenient & spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this characterful, family-run residence in a tranquil area on the outskirts of Nairobi. Very comfortable, tastefully renovated rooms (master room especially spacious) provided a relaxed, elegant setting complemented by an extremely friendly and hospitable team who made us feel completely at home.

Highlights were the highly attentive service, excellent home-cooked food, charming ambience and a peaceful garden to wander in adjacent to a giraffe sanctuary where game sightings are frequent.

Thank you very much for your generous hospitality and a memorable stay! We had a fabulous time and will highly recommend you to friends passing through Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

What a fantastic retreat from the bustle of Nairobi. I slept better at Hogmead than I do back home in the states - the staff are attentive to every detail, and as many of the reviewers before me have mentioned, the venue is absolutely beautiful. Munching on three-course meals on the veranda with giraffes looking on is something to behold.

Venetia and Jay in particular are fantastic and made us feel like part of the family. Benson as well is one heck of a bartender.

I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.7 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
7.9 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Giraffe Manor
Giraffe Manor
#1 of 134 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
1.2 mi away
Macushla House
Macushla House
#8 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hogmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hogmead

Address: Kikenni Road, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hogmead is a boutique 'home from home' in Nairobi, situated in the peaceful outskirts of the city, with easy access from both the International and Domestic airports. Hosted by Jay Macleod and Richard Muhehe, this is a highly personalized retreat from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi. Come and enjoy Nairobi the way it is meant to be: with lovely views of the Ngongs, peaceful surroundings and great hosting. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hogmead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.