We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay (for business or pleasure)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hogmead

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hogmead
Save Saved
You added Hogmead to your Saves list
Kikenni Road, Nairobi 00509, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 94 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay (for business or pleasure)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I was fortunate to stay with Jay, Venetia and the team at Hogmead during a recent business trip to Nairobi. My business hosts booked this residence and I am pleased they chose Hogmead! This place is absolutely fantastic, whether for business (or pleasure), and I don't think you'd feel more at home, while still having all the luxury and privacy you could desire from a chain hotel, anywhere else.

Rooms are comfortably furnished (actually the bed and pillows were amazing!) with LCD satellite televisions, DVD player, large bath and shower, etc.

Jay and Venetia will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable - even if it means a packed breakfast before sunrise. The standard offering includes a wake-up call with tea or coffee.

The residence is in a very good area of Nairobi but some way from the international airport (Jomo Kenyatta International Airport), so allow ample time for traveling as the traffic is rather chaotic and unpredictable - even early morning or late night.

I stayed at House of Waine on my previous visit to Nairobi, but Hogmead definitely trumps! I would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: The Verandah ground level rooms are convenient & spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
5
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this characterful, family-run residence in a tranquil area on the outskirts of Nairobi. Very comfortable, tastefully renovated rooms (master room especially spacious) provided a relaxed, elegant setting complemented by an extremely friendly and hospitable team who made us feel completely at home.

Highlights were the highly attentive service, excellent home-cooked food, charming ambience and a peaceful garden to wander in adjacent to a giraffe sanctuary where game sightings are frequent.

Thank you very much for your generous hospitality and a memorable stay! We had a fabulous time and will highly recommend you to friends passing through Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

What a fantastic retreat from the bustle of Nairobi. I slept better at Hogmead than I do back home in the states - the staff are attentive to every detail, and as many of the reviewers before me have mentioned, the venue is absolutely beautiful. Munching on three-course meals on the veranda with giraffes looking on is something to behold.

Venetia and Jay in particular are fantastic and made us feel like part of the family. Benson as well is one heck of a bartender.

I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

This was my first visit to Hogmead, I will not go anywhere else in the future. At Hogmead you find very personable service, excellent food, and the staff makes fool proof arrangements for you. Absolute above and beyond! Yes, one is truly treated like family. I arrived on short notice, with no concrete plans how to spend my time in Kenya. Jay-Jay and Venitia, the team running Hogmead, immediately help me out and I spend the most amazing 10 days ever. Through their Safari and Conservation Company contacts they set me up to explore, and then gave me the warmest welcome back just upon departure. The Roberts and Dyers family standards are just too high to be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My third visit at Hogmead surpassed my first two and that was tough to do! This time I stayed in the amazing master suite which is beautiful in every way, particularly the bathroom which was larger than my first London flat!
The hotel is small enough to feel like a family home and that is how you are treated too. It remains a peaceful haven tucked away from bustling Nairobi and a gentle place to ease yourself into or on the way out of the bush.
Great food, beautiful surroundings and views of the hills. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Nairobi now!

Room Tip: The master suite is simply stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We had the warmest welcome at Hogmead. Our room was lovely, large, quiet. We had tea, then drinks with the owner, charming. It did feel like a home. Very relaxed. And then a really really good dinner on the veranda overlooking the garden. Lovely staff. The manageress was there to see us off with a breakfast picnic at 5:30 AM, pretty impressive. And she was smiling!

Room Tip: We had a corner room the biggest I think. But our children had a very pretty room too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Without question the best accommodation in Nairobi and great value for money. We stayed here on a work trip for five days and the service, food, company was unbeatable. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: the upstairs rooms are lovley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hogmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hogmead

Address: Kikenni Road, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 94 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hogmead is a boutique 'home from home' in Nairobi, situated in the peaceful outskirts of the city, with easy access from both the International and Domestic airports. Hosted by Jay Macleod and Richard Muhehe, this is a highly personalized retreat from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi. Come and enjoy Nairobi the way it is meant to be: with lovely views of the Ngongs, peaceful surroundings and great hosting. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hogmead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.