We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful mosque” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamia Mosque

Jamia Mosque
Banda Street, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 94 things to do in Nairobi
Attraction details
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful mosque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful Friday prayers on a beautiful day.
Nice atmosphere with locals.
Nice vibe of the local community.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank HarryChohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Holy grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Common place for worship especially Fridays it is filled to brim.
The architecture is magnificent with big halls for lectures.
It is right in the middle of town hence easy accessibilty.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank nuriruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Spectacle on Fridays and During Ramadhan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This serves as the center for all the Nairobi Muslims since it is in the Central Business District. Therefore, convenient for all those working in the city. It is next to the Macmillan Library, Tropez and Nation Center (a leading national media house). Its inspiring to see all the muslims go for prayers especially on Fridays and during the Holy month of Ramadhan. The best thing is to avoid driving along the street there on those days from noon,and especially on Ramadhan when they have the road closed on Fridays.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank VirginiaNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“its location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

i like it because its situated at down town near the library making the place to be a cool place for the learners in the library during weekdays and saturday

Helpful?
2 Thank SANDTON12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Curiosity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Wanted to see inside. Needless to say as an average Nairobi woman,non muslim, I didn't get far. But what I did see was nothing spectacular so I don't think I missed much

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Wavinya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamia Mosque also viewed

 

Been to Jamia Mosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing