We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See it now before there are umpteen Geothermal Power Plants!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hell's Gate National Park Day Tour

Hell's Gate National Park Day Tour
Mau mau road, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
254720650869
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #25 of 105 Activities in Nairobi
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“See it now before there are umpteen Geothermal Power Plants!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We didn't have time to do a walk here but spent about two and a half hours driving thru the park and to a fantastic view point overlooking the gorge. The scenery in this park is dramatic and it is unique because you can hike here or ride bikes and if you have time for that sort of thing it would be amazing.

Plenty of lovely wildlife, but no big cats or anything too dangerous, so you don't go here for the 'Big Five'. It is well worth it, if, as with most of Kenya, a little overpriced.

However, there are already many geothermal power plants here, and many more are planned. A village is earmarked to be moved to make way for another, and we were shown 'scrapings' of cleared earth where yet more are to go. It will eventually really spoil the look of the park, not to mention the rotten-egg smell and noise, once they get them all going.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Walking with wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

The park is easily accessible from Nairobi and makes for a great day trip. Ask if you can walkin Hell's Gate gorge - an experience not to be missed.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Delaware
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Having done a safari the year before, we thought we were taking a little walk. Our wonderful taxi driver, Antony, convinced us old fogeys that we could walk the road to the gorge - little did we know it was 5 miles each way!!! I went down into the gorge with Antony and up the other side. It was beautiful. The most amazing thing was that along the road all around us were zebras, impalas, gazelles and warthogs. We even saw giraffes and baboons. Watching the animals at the watering holes was fascinating. We had some sore feet at the end of the day but also a very full heart. (The people in the office didn't belive we had actually walked the whole trail!)

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Surreal walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

we went for a walk here when we stayed at Lake Naivasha. Wow! awesome walk! Very easy but long, very few parts where some scrambling through the rocks in required but very easy in general. As usual avoid walking in the middle of the day (too hot), take enough water. we didn't use the local guides, there is only one way to go so if you stay in the path you can't get lost. I wish I had had my MTB with! If you can get hold of one, you must go for a ride here! we also saw some zebras and buck but not many mammals, plenty birds though. Check times of closing of gates! You will have to pay a fine if you are not out in time.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic glimpse of geological past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Drive in through the park spotting giraffe, warthogs (like Pumba), buffalo, baboon and gazelle to arrive at the guided Gorge walk that will show you hot springs, rock towers and the astounding Hell's Bedroom. An excellent mix of wildlife and scenery, both close-up.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hell's Gate National Park Day Tour also viewed

 

Been to Hell's Gate National Park Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hell's Gate National Park Day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.