We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to see part of Kenya history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and Giraffe Center

Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and Giraffe Center
Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: National Parks
Attraction Details
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice place to see part of Kenya history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Have you seen the movie called "Out of Africa"? if so, this Karen Blixen Museum is the place hiroin Karen actually lived long time ago. The town named after her name. Many colonians lived Karen area before. These days many Kenyan (black) people live in the area.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    102
    21
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Treasure Island, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

In late November I completed my third visit to these wonderful locations. May I suggest you read Karen Blixon's book, "Out of Africa" and/or see the movie before you go, as I think either or both will enhance your visit to her home in Karen, Kenya. I particluarly enjoy the view of the Ngong Hills from her back-yard. The giraffe sanctuary gives you a VERY up close and sometimes personal look at giraffes and be sure to try to arrange a visit to the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, and hopefully "adopt" a baby elephant while there. The trust is leading the way to help preserve the African elephant in the wild, as poaching by organized crime groups from Asia is threatening them and rhinos with extinction in the wild.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“employees very knowledgable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I learned so much about Giraffes and KB; staff answered all questions, lots of smiles, warm nature, grounds were clean,

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A good half-day activity in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

First we drove to the National Park which was not so small as we have thought with nice city views on the background. We spotted rhinos, giraffes, buffalos, zebras and lots of gazzels of different kinds. Did not see cats. The entrance fee was quite high 40 USD per person though. Then we visited the baby elephant center next door and were explained about the orphan elephants You could even touch them and could watch them drinking milk from their bottles which was so nice.
The next thing we visited was Karen Blixen Museum. The house was situated in a big open garden with acatia trees and it looked like in the pictures, the house inside was authentic, had some original furniture and books and pictures made by Karen Blixen. A guide was explaining the story which made the visit more valuable.
In the giraffe center you can feed, tap the heads and kiss giraffes and take a picture with them which was also so quite. But the center was actually very small and it would have been better if somebody had explained us about the different girrafes, there were.
Overall expression was worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Such a fun trip! First stop was to see the giraffes and feed them! What a hoot! Yes, you can probably see giraffes and feed them wherever in the world but in Africa its a bonus! Off to Karen Blixens Museum which was just a sense of "I can't believe I'm at the house where they filmed Out of Africa. It was a nice tour and the scenery was better! It's worth going to hear the history.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and Giraffe Center also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and Giraffe Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and Giraffe Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and Giraffe Center to your Saves list