We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karen Blixen Museum - insight into colonial life!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and Giraffe Center

Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and Giraffe Center
Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: National Parks
Attraction Details
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Karen Blixen Museum - insight into colonial life!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The house was being renovated so the furniture and artefacts were under wraps but nevertheless the guide gave us a great insight into KB's life and experience. The gardens and views are excellent too!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    92
    20
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great day out...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have wanted to visit this national park for some time now and we finally got there a few weeks ago, after a small issue at the main entrance we finally got into the park and I have to say we had a great day.
With the back drop from the city, it seems strange but there we loads of animals to see.
The place is large, so we bought a map at the entrance, shame it never had pictures of which animals where in the park so we could mark them off as we seen them like other places we have been to, so it was a reasonable price.
The orphanage was an added bonus as we got there as they were just feeding the animals at 3 PM, so go to see 4 of the big 5 getting fed.
In summary, a great place if you haven't got time to go further a field like Sweet Waters or Sambura.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Interesting piece of history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

It was cool seeing the location of Out of Africa and hearing the stories about this woman who did so much. Well-maintained, informative guide, and worth the quick trip over.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You'll learn a lot and have fun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had no idea who KB was as I'd not seen the Out of Africa film or read the book before my visit. Fascinating visit to her home and good quality souvenirs on sale at reasonable prices, for once.

Giraffe Centre is great, especially if you're brave enough to feed the giraffes by putting the food in your own mouth for them to take from you.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Out of Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great place to see the location of the filming of Out of Africa! Just a great feeling to be on location in person!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and Giraffe Center also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and Giraffe Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and Giraffe Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.