We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay a whole month” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YMCA Nairobi (Central Branch)

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YMCA Nairobi (Central Branch)
Save
You added YMCA Nairobi (Central Branch) to your Saves list
State House Rd, Nairobi 30330, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 183 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good place to stay a whole month”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed longer than intended due to sickness, but found the Y to be adequate for this because of its location. It's 5 minutes walk from the centre of Nairobi, in a very safe area where you can also walk to the Arboretum to see beautiful trees and plants and do some altitude training. Food at the Y is delicious, good value and very popular during the week. If you stay on Sunday, be mindful of the fact that there are four churches that meet within the compound, four, seriously! Staff are professional, kind and friendly. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Toilets and Showers were in good condition, so I chose the non-deluxe rooms with shared facilities a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
5
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Egersund, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

this hostel is have a perfect location.

The room is OK - be prepared for low african standard (this is a hostel, and I rated it as a hostel).
old furnitures, baathrooms are small (some rooms have problems with hot water)

The best part is the garden restaurant. Where you can take good meal for 4 USD, or just a cup of tea and meet other travelers.

Smiling staff !
Safe place !
Fair taxi-service !
Walking distance to city center - (even at nights...... if you are a small group)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Good environment and nice crew. Rooms need new furniture, beds are comfortable and bathrooms are OK. Good breakfast is included in the fare.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

YMCA offers a reliable hostel to a budget traveler even in Nairobi. You can feel at home at a restaurant, an internet cafe, a kiosk, a swimming room, a barber and a conference room. Protected by a guard, it locates next to the University of Nairobi and in a walking distance (10-15 minutes) from the city center. However, you may need a mosquito repellent both in a room and at a shared shower room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kenya Comfort Hotel
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#69 of 131 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#17 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
7.8 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA Nairobi (Central Branch)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Nairobi (Central Branch)

Address: State House Rd, Nairobi 30330, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YMCA Nairobi (Central Branch), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.